Outlaw by Angus Donald

Related Posts
Gladiatrix

The Ancient Roman public's hunger for gladiatorial combat has never been greater. The Emperor Domitian's passion for novelty and variety in the arena has given rise to a very different kind of warrior: the Gladiatrix. Sole survivor of a shipwreck Read more

No Small Thing: A Novel of the American Revolution

The story of the American Revolution is the story of a people at war with themselves and each other. Caught up in what Thomas Paine called the American crisis, American colonists made decisions that often had nothing to do with Read more

Outlaw by Angus Donald
Date:
MainCategory:
Period:
Type:
Genre:
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Author:
Narrator:

In the tradition of Bernard Cornwell and Ben Kane, Outlaw is a rousing historical novel that mixes legend with fact to bring to life the time, the lives and the struggles of late 12th century England. As the Henry II struggles with his rebelious children and the conflict between the Saxon nobility and the Norman conquerors continues on as bloody as ever, there is a figure that has remained firmly fixed in the imagation of generations – Robin Hood, an outlaw and a renegade nobility determined to bring down the men who took his land, his family, and his position.

When he’s caught stealing, young Alan Dale is forced to leave his family and go to live with a notorious band of outlaws in Sherwood Forest. Their leader is the infamous Robin Hood. A tough, bloodthirsty warrior, Robin is more feared than any man in the county.

And he becomes a mentor for Alan; with his fellow outlaws, Robin teaches Alan how to fight – and how to win. But Robin is a ruthless man – and although he is Alan’s protector, if Alan displeases him, he could also just as easily become his murderer…From bloody battles to riotous feast days to marauding packs of wolves,

Outlaw is a gripping, action-packed historical thriller that delves deep into the fascinating legend of Robin Hood.

3 sort stories In the same universe :

The Rise of Robin Hood

The Betrayal of Father Tuck

The Hostility of Hanno

Blood’s Game: In the court of Charles II fortune favours the brave…But one false step could prove fatal (Holcraft Blood Book 1)

Blood's Game: In the court of Charles II fortune favours the brave…But one false step could prove fatal (Holcraft Blood Book 1)
Date:
MainCategory:
Type:
Genre:
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Author:

The new historical series from the bestselling author of the Outlaw Chronicles.

London, Winter 1670. Holcroft Blood has entered the employ of the Duke of Buckingham, one of the most powerful men in the kingdom after the king. It is here that his education really begins. With a gift for numbers and decoding ciphers, Holcroft soon proves invaluable to the Duke, but when he’s pushed into a betrayal he risks everything for revenge.

His father, Colonel Thomas Blood, has fallen on hard times. A man used to fighting, he lives by his wits and survives by whatever means necessary.

When he’s asked to commit treason by stealing the crown jewels, he puts himself and his family in a dangerous situation – one that may end at the gallows. As the machinations of powerful men plot to secure the country’s future, both father and son must learn what it is to survive in a more dangerous battlefield than war – the court of King Charles II.

THE THRILLING NEW SERIES FROM THE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE ‘OUTLAW CHRONICLES’. PERFECT FOR FANS OF BERNARD CORNWELL AND CONN IGGULDEN. AFTER THE TUDORS CAME THE STUARTS . . .

The Last Berserker: An action-packed Viking adventure (Fire Born Book 1)

The Last Berserker: An action-packed Viking adventure (Fire Born Book 1)
MainCategory:
Period:
Type:
Genre:
trope:
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Author:
Narrator:

‘Donald is a writer not only at the top of his game, but of the game’ Giles Kristian, author of the Raven series
‘Donald delivers a masterclass’ Theodore Brun, author of A Burning Sea
‘A gory, gleeful treat’ The Times

The greatest warriors are forged in the flames

Two pagan fighters

771AD, Northern Europe. Bjarki Bloodhand and Tor Hildarsdottir are journeying south into Saxony. Their destination is the Irminsul, the One Tree that links the Nine Worlds of the Middle-Realm. In this most holy place, they hope to learn how to summon their animal spirits so they can enter the ranks of the legendary berserkir: the elite frenzied fighters of the North.

One Christian king

Karolus, newly crowned King of the Franks, has a thorn in his side: the warlike Saxon tribes on his northern borders who shun the teachings of the Church, blasphemously continuing to worship their pagan gods.

An epic battle for the soul of the North

The West’s greatest warlord vows to stamp out his neighbours’ superstitions and bring the light of the True Faith to the Northmen – at the point of a sword. It will fall to Bjarki, Tor and the men and women of Saxony to resist him in a struggle for the fate of all Europe.

Praise for The Last Berserker

‘Donald has taken the legendary berserkers, those frothing-at-the-mouth shield-biters, and made them human, which once again proves that Donald is a writer not only at the top of his game, but of the game … It is a wonderful, rich and violent brew. I welcome Angus Donald to the shield wall of Viking fiction like a thirsty man welcomes a mead-brother to the feast … A tale worthy of the skalds’ Giles Kristian, author of the Raven series

‘With The Last Berserker, Donald has given us the first cut of some serious Dark Age beef. By turns heart-racing, intriguing, and touching, this is not a book for the faint-hearted – I can’t wait for more’ Theodore Brun, author of A Burning Sea

The Last Berserker strikes with the thundering power of Thor’s hammer… rich with the earthy depth, historical detail, intrigue, violence and adventure that we expect from Donald. But it is Bjarki and Tor that make The Last Berserker stand out… Donald’s masterful creations will live on in the imagination long after the final page’ Matthew Harffy, author of the Bernicia Chronicles

‘A wonderful, blood-soaked tale of redemption and revenge, set amidst the eighth century clash of civilisations between Pagan Vikings and Christian Franks, by a master of the genre’ Saul David, author of Zulu Hart

‘Loved this tale of a berserker facing up against the tidal wave of Charlemagne’s expansion. Great characters, brilliantly paced and explosive, gritty battle-scenes. Highly recommended’ John Gwynne, author of Malice

The Broken Kingdom: Episode One: Arthur’s Bane (Wormkind Chronicles Book 1)

The Broken Kingdom: Episode One: Arthur's Bane (Wormkind Chronicles Book 1)
MainCategory:
Period:
Newstuff:
Type:
Genre:
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Author:

Arthur’s Bane is the first episode in The Broken Kingdom, the first novel in the Wormkind Chronicles, which is an epic fantasy series about the legendary British hero Arthur.

The story ranges across a version of post-Roman Britain in which the various British Kingdoms are almost constantly at war with each other. Meanwhile, desperate Saxon refugees are flooding into Britain from across the seas, driven from their homes by rising sea levels, and worse, the mighty dragon Cythraul, the epitome of evil, has been awoken from its long slumbers and threatens to extinguish all human life . . .

The Wormkind Chronicles will be delivered in episodic form, with a new episode dropping every few months. The first novel The Broken Kingdom will contain four or five episodes, each of about 20,000 words, or 70 pages. The Wormkind Chronicles is expected to be a trilogy.

Outlaw (Outlaw Chronicles)

Outlaw (Outlaw Chronicles)
Date:
MainCategory:
Period:
Type:
Genre:
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Author:
Narrator:

When he’s caught stealing, young Alan Dale is forced to leave his family and go to live with a notorious band of outlaws in Sherwood Forest.

Their leader is the infamous Robin Hood. A tough, bloodthirsty warrior, Robin is more feared than any man in the county. And he becomes a mentor for Alan; with his fellow outlaws, Robin teaches Alan how to fight – and how to win.

But Robin is a ruthless man – and although he is Alan’s protector, if Alan displeases him, he could also just as easily become his murderer….

From bloody battles to riotous feast days to marauding packs of wolves, Outlaw is a gripping, action-packed historical thriller that delves deep into the fascinating legend of Robin Hood.