Fruiting Bodies and Other Fungi

Related Posts
Looking for Something to Suck: The Vampire Stories of R. Chetwynd-Hayes

In these exsanguinating stories, Ronald Chetwynd-Hayes masterfully reinvents the vampire genre as he introduces the reader to a cleaning woman who discovers she is working for Dracula's son; a couple trapped in a house created by the mind of a Read more

Midnight in the Pentagram

As the clock’s pendulum steadily counts down towards the midnight hour, the growing scent of brimstone hangs heavy in the air. The universal symbol of all that is evil, the pentagram, or the inverted pentacle, has been carved in the Read more

Fruiting Bodies and Other Fungi

Thirteen terrifying tales from the master of horror who created the nationally bestselling Necroscope series. The title story, “Fruiting Bodies,” in which a small village slowly disappears, won the British Fantasy Award.

“The Viaduct,” is the story of two young boys who learn the truth about fear and death.

“Born of the Winds” was nominated for the World Fantasy Award.

There is also an introduction by Lumley in which he discusses violence in horror fiction.

Stories included in this collection:
Fruiting Bodies
The Man Who Photographed Beardsley
The Man Who Felt Pain
The Viaduct
No Way Home
The Pit-Yakker
The Mirror of Nitocris
The Thin People
The Cyprus Shell
The Deep-Sea Conch
Born of the Winds

Leave a Reply