Hide the Lightning (The Coalition Book 1)

Related Posts
The Collapsing Empire: The Interdependency

*2018 LOCUS AWARD WINNER OF BEST SCIENCE FICTION NOVEL* *2018 HUGO AWARD FINALIST FOR BEST NOVEL* “John Scalzi is the most entertaining, accessible writer working in SF today.” —Joe Hill, author of The Fireman The first novel of a new space-opera Read more

Crisis of Empire series by David Drake

A modern take on Golden Age space opera the serie is set in the year 5341 The Emperor is dead, leaving only a child as successor. Will the leaders of the empire rally behind the heir? If not, interstellar civilization will Read more

Hide the Lightning (The Coalition Book 1)
Date:
MainCategory:
Type:
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Narrator:

Harmon Tomeral, along with his friends and allies, continues to develop the forces of Salvage System, for its own defense and—if the cause is just—to defend others. Humans and aliens working together would seem novel…but then again, outside of Earth and the Sol System, humans are aliens, too.

Having salvaged, repaired, and rebuilt a number of warships, the Salvage Fleet is a presence to be reckoned with. The Ground Force, including its specialty unit, the Bolts, has also continued to grow, and they spend their time training with the weapons of war—mechs, tanks, artillery, and battle armor—and anything else they can get their hands and paws on that will give them an edge in battle.

When the Nazrooth System calls, they are once again compelled to right a wrong. It won’t be easy…but then again, it never is. Just don’t tell Harmon the odds—he doesn’t want to know them. Despite a staggering imbalance in forces, Harmon boards his flagship, Salvage Title, and leads the majority of his fleet to free Nazrooth. Only a small, defensive fleet is left behind, full of trainees and reservists.

Both Salvage Fleet and the home forces are ready to face the odds, but what if this time they’re insurmountable?

Salvage Title (The Salvage Title Trilogy Book 1)

Salvage Title (The Salvage Title Trilogy Book 1)
Date:
MainCategory:
Type:
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Narrator:

The Salvage Title journey begins!

They couldn’t afford a ship, much less the cost of registering one. But there is always a loophole…

Harmon Tomeral wanted nothing more than to go to space. Sent to an orphanage when his parents were killed in a sandstorm, the odds were stacked against him. Despite that, he made it to the academy and graduated in the top ten percent of his class…only to find out the fleet did what it wanted, regardless of regulations, and he came from the wrong planet.

He didn’t give up his dream, though, because where there’s a will, there’s a loophole, and Harmon and his friends found their loophole in the Top Fleet Marine competition—the winner would get 100,000 credits, which would just be enough to start their own salvage company. If they could build a mech and win the competition, they would be set.

But the fleet had already shown they didn’t want him in space, so it would be an uphill fight. Good thing his friends and crew were very much against fleet regulations.

The Jazzman’s Requiem and Blues, Booze and Bullets (Delta Private Investigations Book 1)

The Jazzman's Requiem and Blues, Booze and Bullets (Delta Private Investigations Book 1)
MainCategory:
Newstuff:
Type:
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Reception:

Two Books in One!

A place worth dying in, 1938 New Orleans. The City That Care Forgot, a bubbling gumbo of Jazz, Blues, Booze, Bullets… and murder.

The World War left Jack Callahan and Lane Walsh slightly scarred, with their own code about how things should be done. A missing Jazzman, a powerful mafia boss, and a cast of characters as if Charles Dickens set his book in 1930’s New Orleans, all add to the recipe of a new noir series from International Best-Selling author Kevin Steverson, and William Alan Webb.

Fans of Raymond Chandler’s Phillip Marlowe, Dashiel Hammett and The Maltese Falcon, Michael Connelly or Elmore Leonard, may find themselves immersed in the cases of Delta Private Investigations.