A Time for Swords

Related Posts
God of Vengeance: (The Rise of Sigurd)

A glorious, bloody, perfect Viking saga of honour, courage, blood feud and revenge from the Sunday Times bestselling author of Lancelot, Giles Kristian. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Games of Thrones. "Unrelenting pace, brilliant action and characters. A masterwork." - CONN IGGULDEN Read more

Styrbiorn the Strong

E. R. Eddison’s classic saga novel now in paperback—includes for the first time Eddison’s remarkable letter of introduction and his unabridged closing note Styrbiorn the Strong tells the grand tale of Styrbiorn Olafsson, heir to the Swedish throne and known both Read more

A Time for Swords
MainCategory:
Type:
Genre:
trope:
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Narrator:

When the Vikings attack, a novice monk’s life is changed forever in Matthew Harffy’s new historical adventure.

Lindisfarne, AD793. There had been portents – famine, whirlwinds, lightning from clear skies, serpents seen flying through the air. But when the raiders came, no one was prepared.

They came from the North, their dragon-prowed longships gliding out of the dawn mist as they descended on the kingdom’s most sacred site.

It is 8th June AD 793, and with the pillage of the monastery on Lindisfarne, the Viking Age has begun.

While his fellow monks flee before the Norse onslaught, one young novice stands his ground. He has been taught to turn the other cheek, but faced with the slaughter of his brothers and the pagan desecration of his church, forgiveness is impossible.
Hunlaf soon learns that there is a time for faith and prayer… and there is a time for swords.

Praise for Matthew Harffy:

‘Harffy is a master of the Dark Age thriller… A Time for Swords is a bold opening to yet another enthralling series. It promises to be one heck of a ride’ Theodore Brun, author of A Mighty Dawn

Terrific white-knuckle action, absolutely gripping storytelling… Can’t wait for the next one. Highly recommended!’ Angus Donald author of Robin Hood and the Caliph’s Gold

‘The gripping novel evokes the turbulence and violence of the first onslaught of the Vikings. I couldn’t put it down!’ Christian Cameron author of Hawkwood’s Sword

‘Nothing less than superb… The tale is fast paced and violence lurks on every page’ Historical Novel Society

Leave a Reply