Cain at Gettysburg (The Battle Hymn Cycle)

Related Posts
The Scarlet Thief: Battle of the Alma, 1854 (Jack Lark Book 1)

INTRODUCING JACK LARK: SOLDIER, LEADER, IMPOSTER. The first book in the compelling military adventure series for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Conn Iggulden and Matthew Harffy. 'Brilliant' Bernard Cornwell 'Quite simply do yourself a favour and read these books' S.J.A. Turney 'Nobody writing Read more

Pulse (A Jack Sigler Thriller Book 1)

HOW MANY PEOPLE WOULD YOU KILL TO LIVE FOREVER? Imagine a world where soldiers regenerate and continue fighting without pause, where suicide bombers live to strike again and again. This is the dream of Richard Ridley, founder of Manifold Genetics, Read more

Cain at Gettysburg (The Battle Hymn Cycle)
Date:
MainCategory:
Type:
trope:
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Author:
Narrator:

Winner of the American Library Association’s W. Y. Boyd Award for Excellence in Military Fiction

Two mighty armies blunder toward each other, one led by confident, beloved Robert E. Lee and the other by dour George Meade. They’ll meet in a Pennsylvania crossroads town where no one planned to fight.

In this sweeping, savagely realistic novel, the greatest battle ever fought on American soil explodes into life at Gettysburg. As generals squabble, staffs err. Tragedy unfolds for immigrants in blue and barefoot Rebels alike. The fate of our nation will be decided in a few square miles of fields.

Following a tough Confederate sergeant from the Blue Ridge, a bitter Irish survivor of the Great Famine, a German political refugee, and gun crews in blue and gray, Cain at Gettysburg is as grand in scale as its depictions of combat are unflinching.

For three days, battle rages. Through it all, James Longstreet is haunted by a vision of war that leads to a fateful feud with Robert E. Lee. Scheming Dan Sickles nearly destroys his own army. Gallant John Reynolds and obstreperous Win Hancock, fiery William Barksdale and dashing James Johnston Pettigrew, gallop toward their fates….

There are no marble statues on this battlefield, only men of flesh and blood, imperfect and courageous. From New York Times bestselling author and former U.S. Army officer Ralph Peters, Cain at Gettysburg is bound to become a classic of men at war.

The War After Armageddon

The War After Armageddon
Date:
MainCategory:
trope:
Lenght:
Author:
Narrator:

Shocking scenes of battle…unforgettable soldiers…heartbreaking betrayals…. In this stunning, fast-paced novel, a ruthless future war unfolds in a 21st century nightmare: Los Angeles is a radioactive ruin; Europe lies bleeding; and Israel has been destroyed…with millions slaughtered. A furious America fights to reclaim the devastated Holy Land.

The Marines storm ashore; the U.S. Army does battle in a Biblical landscape. Hi-tech weaponry is useless and primitive hatreds flare. Lt. Gen. Gary “Flintlock” Harris and his courageous warriors struggle for America’s survival–with ruthless enemies to their front and treachery at their rear. Islamist fanatics, crusading Christians, and unscrupulous politicians open the door to genocide.

The War After Armageddon thrusts the reader into a terrifying future in which all that remains is the horror of war–and the inspiration of individual heroism. A master at bringing to life “the eternal soldier,” Ralph Peters tells a riveting tale that honors those Americans who fight and sacrifice all for a dream of freedom.

Red Army by Ralph Peters

Red Army by Ralph Peters
Date:
MainCategory:
Period:
Lenght:
Author:
Reception:

Red Army is unique among military fiction published in the US during the 1980s, as it presented the material exclusively from the perspective of officers and men in the Soviet Army written by US Army intelligence analyst Ralph Peters

Soldiers with the Group of Soviet Forces in East Germany prepare to launch an invasion of West Germany. Soviet General Mikhail Malinsky, commander of the First Western Front, discusses the upcoming invasion with other Soviet leaders.

The plans call for a simultaneous thrust on three fronts: across the North German Plain, through the Fulda Gap, and across Bavaria. NATO commanders are to be bluffed into thinking the main assault will come at the Fulda Gap, but the main effort will be on the North German Plain, led by Malinsky. Airborne forces will be dropped deep into West Germany to disrupt the NATO rearguard