The Burning Road

Related Posts
The Spear of Crom: a thrilling historical adventure set in Roman-occupied Celtic Britain

In Roman Britain, a Celtic warrior rides out on a deadly mission. A thrilling blend of legend and history, bloody battles and daring deeds by the author of the Whale Road Chronicles. A priceless relic – a thankless quest – Read more

Beasts Beyond The Wall (Brothers Of The Sands)

In the dog days of Rome, a mission to the edge of the world... Drust and Kag, two ex-gladiators, are met with an unusual request. Powerful Servilius Structus sends them deep into Scotland, land of the Caledonii, to find and secure a woman and Read more

The Burning Road
MainCategory:
Period:
trope:
Lenght:

In the shadow of Sicily’s Mount Etna, a brutal rebellion is about to erupt . . .

The scorching new historical thriller from Sunday Times bestseller and Ancient Rome expert, Harry Sidebottom.

‘What Bernard Cornwell is to the Napoleonic Wars, Harry Sidebottom is to Roman legions: unassailable’ – THE TIMES
______________________

AD265 – Sicily, Ancient Rome: In the shadow of Mount Etna, slaves are rising up. As the rebel leader declares Sicily the new land of the free, men and women are slaughtered, and cities across the island are sacked and burned.

When a ship is wrecked off the island’s west coast, all but two survivors are cut down in the surf by the rebel slaves. Ballista, an experienced Roman soldier, has always found a way to survive against the odds – but his son Marcus is still just a boy.

With the burning road stretching out ahead of them, father and son must cross the war-ravaged island in a race against time to save the rest of his family, and somehow find a way to extinguish the brutal rebellion, before it all goes up in flames.

THE BURNING ROAD is the scorching new thriller from one of the world’s best historical novelists – for fans of Simon Scarrow, Conn Iggulden, Ben Kane and Bernard Cornwell.

Fire in the East (Warrior of Rome Book 1)

Fire in the East (Warrior of Rome Book 1)
Date:
MainCategory:
Period:
Genre:
trope:
Lenght:
Narrator:

A.D. 255. The Roman imperium is stretched to the breaking point, its authority and might challenged throughout the territories and along every border. One man is sent to marshal the defenses of a lonely city and to shore up the crumbling walls of a once indomitable symbol of Roman power, a man whose very name means war: a man called Ballista.

So unfolds an epic drama – a story of empire, heroes, treachery, courage, and most of all, of brutal, bloody warfare.

The spectacular flair for explosive action and depth of literary and geographic knowledge, as well as the psychological complexity of the characters, makes Fire in the East the most authoritative historical adventure novel this year.