The Gates of Athens: Book One in the Athenian series

Related Posts
Sword and Scimitar

Best-selling author Simon Scarrow brings the Great Siege of Malta to vivid and unforgettable life in this gripping standalone novel. Malta, 1565: a vital outpost between the divided nations of Europe and the relentlessly expanding Ottoman Empire. Faced with ferocious Read more

Scaramouche

Scaramouche: A Romance of the French Revolution by Rafael Sabatini is a historical novel set during the tumultuous period of the French Revolution. The story follows the adventures of André-Louis Moreau, a young lawyer and fencing master. After a personal tragedy, Read more

The Gates of Athens
MainCategory:
Period:
Type:
Genre:
Published: 2021-05-04
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Narrator:
Reception:
DEVOUR THE LATEST EPIC TALE OF ANCIENT GREECE AND SUNDAY TIMES TOP 5 BESTSELLER FROM THE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF EMPEROR AND WAR OF THE ROSES 'Astonishing, convincing and compelling, with ferocious battles that bring the Ancient World of Greece alive' 5***** Reader Review ______ On the plains of Marathon an army of slaves gathers . . . Under Darius the Great, King of Kings, the mighty Persian army - swollen by 10,000 Immortal warriors -…

Falcon Of Sparta by Conn Iggulden

The Falcon of Sparta
Date:
MainCategory:
Period:
Genre:
Published: 2019-07-09
Lenght:
Narrator:
Reception:
The bestselling author of the Emperor, Conqueror and The Wars of the Roses returns to the Ancient World with a gripping adventure based on an epic true story. 'HIS FINEST NOVEL TO DATE . . . THE BATTLE SCENES ARE THRILLING' SUNDAY EXPRESS ___________ In the Ancient World, one army was feared above all others. 401 BC. The Persian king Artaxerxes rules an empire stretching from the Aegean to northern India. As many as fifty…

Emperor: The Gates of Rome: A Novel of Julius Caesar by Conn Iggulden

Emperor: The Gates of Rome
Date:
MainCategory:
Period:
Type:
Genre:
trope:
Published: 2009-06-23
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Reception:
From the author of the bestselling The Dangerous Book for Boys Sweeping us into a realm of tyrants and slaves, of dark intrigues and seething passions, Conn Iggulden brings us a magnificent novel of ancient Rome—and of the early years of a man who would become the most powerful ruler on earth. In a city of grandeur and decadence, beauty and bloodshed, two boys, best friends, dream of glory in service of the mightiest empire…

The Abbot’s Tale

The Abbot's Tale
Date:
MainCategory:
Period:
Genre:
Published: 2019-10-08
Lenght:
Narrator:
Reception:
In the year 937, the new king of England, a grandson of Alfred the Great, readies himself to go to war in the north. His dream of a united kingdom of all England will stand or fall on one field—on the passage of a single day. At his side is the priest Dunstan of Glastonbury, full of ambition and wit (perhaps enough to damn his soul). His talents will take him from the villages of…

Genghis: Birth of an Empire

Genghis
Date:
MainCategory:
Period:
Type:
Genre:
Published: 2007
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Narrator:
Reception:
Iggulden, the acclaimed author of the Emperor novels, which chronicle the life of Julius Caesar, now offers an account of the life of Genghis Khan.

From the author of the bestselling The Dangerous Book for Boys
 
He was born Temujin, the son of a khan, raised in a clan of hunters migrating across the rugged steppe. Temujin’s young life was shaped by a series of brutal acts: the betrayal of his father by a neighboring tribe and the abandonment of his entire family, cruelly left to die on the harsh plain. But Temujin endured—and from that moment on, he was driven by a singular fury: to survive in the face of death, to kill before being killed, and to conquer enemies who could come without warning from beyond the horizon.

Through a series of courageous raids against the Tartars, Temujin’s legend grew. And so did the challenges he faced—from the machinations of a Chinese ambassador to the brutal abduction of his young wife, Borte. Blessed with ferocious courage, it was the young warrior’s ability to learn, to imagine, and to judge the hearts of others that propelled him to greater and greater power. Until Temujin was chasing a vision: to unite many tribes into one, to make the earth tremble under the hoofbeats of a thousand warhorses, to subject unknown nations and even empires to his will.

The Dangerous Book for Boys

The Dangerous Book for Boys
Date:
MainCategory:
Published: 2012-04-24
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Reception:
The bestselling book for every boy from eight to eighty, covering essential boyhood skills such as building tree houses*, learning how to fish, finding true north, and even answering the age old question of what the big deal with girls is. In this digital age there is still a place for knots, skimming stones and stories of incredible courage. This book recaptures Sunday afternoons, stimulates curiosity, and makes for great father-son activities. The brothers Conn…

Stormbird: The Wars of the Roses (Book 1)

Wars of the Roses: Stormbird
Date:
MainCategory:
Period:
Type:
Genre:
Published: 2014-07-29
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Narrator:
Reception:
THE EPIC FIRST INSTALMENT IN THE THRILLING WAR OF THE ROSES SERIES, PERFECT FOR FANS OF GAME OF THRONES, BERNARD CORNWELL & WOLF HALL King Henry V - the great Lion of England - is dead. It's up to his son to take the throne, but frail in body and mind, he is dependent on his supporters to run his kingdom. Richard, Duke of York, believes that without a strong king England will fall. And…