The Ill-Made Knight(Chivalry Book 1)

Related Posts
The Ill-Made Knight(Chivalry Book 1)
Date:
MainCategory:
Period:
Type:
Genre:
Lenght:
Seriesize:

Discover the first medieval adventure in the action-packed Chivalry series! Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Simon Scarrow and Conn Iggulden.

September, 1356. Poitiers.
The greatest knights of the age were ready to give battle.

On the English side, Edward, the Black Prince, who’d earned his spurs at Crecy.
On the French side, the King and his son, the Dauphin. With 12,000 knights.

And then there is William Gold. A cook’s boy – the lowest of the low – who had once been branded as a thief. William dreams of being a knight, but in this savage new world of intrigue, betrayal and greed, first he must learn to survive.

As rapacious English mercenaries plunder a country already ravaged by plague, and the peasantry take violent revenge against the French knights who have failed to protect them, is chivalry any more than a boyish fantasy?

Killer of Men (The Long War)

Killer of Men (The Long War)
Date:
MainCategory:
Period:
Type:
Genre:
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Narrator:

In the epic clash of Greece and Persia, a hero is forged – a monumental novel from the author of the Tyrant series.

Arimnestos is a farm boy when war breaks out between the citizens of his native Plataea and their overbearing neighbours, Thebes. Standing in the battle line for the first time, alongside his father and brother, he shares in a famous and unlikely victory. But after being knocked unconscious in the melee, he awakes not a hero, but a slave.

Betrayed by his jealous and cowardly cousin, the freedom he fought for has now vanished, and he becomes the property of a rich citizen. So begins an epic journey out of slavery that takes the young Arimnestos through a world poised on the brink of an epic confrontation, as the emerging civilization of the Greeks starts to flex its muscles against the established empire of the Persians.

As he tries to make his fortune and revenge himself on the man who disinherited him, Arimnestos discovers that he has a talent that pays well in this new, violent world – for like his hero, Achilles, he is ‘a killer of men’.

Alexander: God of War

The ultimate historical adventure novel: the life of Alexander the Great in a single, epic volume.

To many he was a god. To others he was a monster. The truth is even more extraordinary.

As a boy, Alexander dreamed of matching the heroic feats of Achilles. At eighteen he led the Macedonian cavalry to a stunning victory against the Greeks. By twenty-five he had crushed the Persians in three monumental battles and was the master of the greatest empire the world had ever seen. Men began to call him a god. But behind the legend was another, more complex story.

Narrated by his boyhood friend Ptolemy, this is the story of Alexander as you have never heard it before: raw, intimate, thrilling – a story of extraordinary daring and unimaginable endurance; of wanton destruction and murderous intrigue – the epic tragedy of a man who aimed to be more than human.