A Time to Serve

Related Posts
The Deserter: A Novel (Scott Brodie & Maggie Taylor Series)

When Captain Kyle Mercer of the Army’s elite Delta Force disappeared from his post in Afghanistan, a video released by his Taliban captors made international headlines. But circumstances were murky: Did Mercer desert before he was captured? Then a second Read more

Command and Control

As a string of unexplained attacks push superpowers to the brink, the clock is ticking toward the start of World War III. "A masterpiece of a military thriller...” —Jason Kasper, USA Today bestselling author of The Enemies of My Country Don Riley, Read more

A Time to Serve
MainCategory:
Period:
Type:
trope:
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Author:
Narrator:

As World War II begins, the Cooper family is thrust headlong into the fray, where they must face the ultimate test of courage—from the home front to the battlefield.

“…a suspenseful saga of one family’s inspiring fight…” —Lee Jackson, author of After Dunkirk

It’s 1941. Clyde and Abigail Cooper are happy newlyweds. She’s from Seattle’s upper crust, and he’s from the wrong side of the tracks. Yet the two are deeply in love. All Clyde wants is to give Abby the life she deserves.

But his plans are dashed with the Japanese surprise attack on Pearl Harbor.

However much he loves his new wife, Clyde can’t ignore his duty to serve. His cousin Shawn Cooper enlisted months before, anticipating the coming war. He regales Clyde with his experiences with a fledgling, experimental US Army unit known as the paratroopers. Soon Clyde enlists with plans for the Airborne, hoping the longer training cycle will outlast the war…

Abby is devastated to part with her new husband, and she knows she needs to find something to occupy her time. While the war has brought many new opportunities for women in the workforce, Abby stumbles into something quite exciting…and dangerous.

For Abby’s father, Victor Brooks, America’s entry into the war means profit. Brooks Industries was on the brink of collapse, but the war has changed everything. The only thing that can stop him is his own insatiable greed.

Thousands of miles away in the Philippines, Clyde’s brother Frank, a US Army soldier, fights for his life against a relentless Japanese onslaught. Ill-equipped, with no chance of resupply, Frank and his unit fight a well-trained Japanese Army on the Bataan Peninsula. After months of bloody fighting, Frank finds himself on the final Allied strongpoint remaining in the Philippines—Corregidor Island.

A Time to Serve is the first book in this epic new WWII historical fiction series, told through the eyes of the different members of the Cooper family, and following the war through its conclusion. Recommended for fans of Jeff Shaara and Ken Follett.

Tark’s Ticks: A WWII Novel

Tark's Ticks: A WWII Novel
MainCategory:
Period:
Type:
trope:
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Author:

A desperate and bloody defense in the early days of WWII.

Hours after the fateful attack on Pearl Harbor, the Imperial Japanese Army invades Luzon. The allies retreat to the Bataan Peninsula and the ensuing bloody battle sets the tone for the entirety of the war in the Pacific.

Far from home and abandoned, the brave GIs and Filipinos fight the Japanese to a standstill. Long months of bloody combat take their toll on both sides, however. The Japanese have reserves…the allies don’t.

Sergeant Tarkington and the soldiers of the 1st platoon are put to the ultimate test. With dwindling supplies and constant harassment from the battle-hardened Japanese, the GIs must adapt and become a cohesive fighting unit if they hope to survive.

Tark’s Ticks is the first book in this gritty WWII series