An Oblique Approach (Belisarius Saga)

Related Posts
Fire in the East (Warrior of Rome Book 1)

A.D. 255. The Roman imperium is stretched to the breaking point, its authority and might challenged throughout the territories and along every border. One man is sent to marshal the defenses of a lonely city and to shore up the Read more

Sword of the War God

In a world of war and ruin, men and gods collide. 436 AD. The Burgundars are confident of destroying Rome's legions, for the Empire is weak. Their forces are strong and they have beaten the Romans in battle before. But Read more

An Oblique Approach (Belisarius Saga)
Date:
MainCategory:
Period:
Type:
Genre:
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Narrator:

ALIEN MINDS BATTLE
FOR BYZANTIUM

In northern India the Malwa have created an empire of unexampled evil. Guided or possessed by an intelligence from beyond time, with new weapons, old treachery, and an implacable will to power, the Malwa will sweep over the whole Earth.

Only three things stand between the Malwa and their plan of eternal domination: the empire of Rome in the East, Byzantium; a crystal with vision; and a man named Belisarius, the greatest commander Earth has ever know. . . .

The IX (The IX Series Book 1)

The IX (The IX Series Book 1)
Date:
MainCategory:
Type:
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Narrator:

Soldiers from varying eras and vastly different backgrounds, including the IX Legion of Rome, are snatched away from Earth at the moment of their passing, and transported to the far side of the galaxy.

Thinking they have been granted a reprieve, their relief turns to horror when they discover they face a stark ultimatum:
Fight or die.

Dagger and Vow: An Adventure in Ancient Rome (Forgotten Heroes of Rome Book 1)

Dagger and Vow: An Adventure in Ancient Rome (Forgotten Heroes of Rome Book 1)
MainCategory:
Period:
Type:
Genre:
trope:
Lenght:
Seriesize:

Marcus Varro is content to work on his father’s farm, selling barley in the markets of Rome. He has vowed to uphold a simple life of peace. Then the Roman Legions find him.

A war that should not be sweeps Varro from his idyllic farm and carries him across the Aegean Sea to a land under siege. His vow of peace is stretched to its limits as he is plunged into blood and battle.

The ceaseless march of the Republican Roman Army spares none.Yet a greater threat stalks Varro, more dangerous and more personal than any enemy soldier. Can he survive in an army where he faces swords to his front and daggers at his back?

Sword of the Legion Series

Sword of the Legion Series
Date:
MainCategory:
Period:
Type:
tropes: ,
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Narrator:
57 B.C., Gaul – Marching with Caesar’s legions against the defiant Belgic tribes, legionary Lucius Domitius narrowly survives an attempt on his life. He is shocked to discover that someone in the higher ranks wants him dead. Unable to trust even his oldest comrades,
Lucius must expose his assailant before the murderer tries again. But as Lucius begins to unravel the plot, he learns that he is just a pawn in a much grander scheme – a scheme to betray the proconsul, Gaius Julius Caesar, and the entire Roman army, to the savagery of the enemy.
All of their fates converge on the banks of a lazy river in the Belgic lands, where the stalwart legions are attacked by an army of spear-wielding, axe-swinging warriors twice their number in the epic Battle of the Sabis.
4 books :

Rome: Fury of the Legion- 57 B.C.

Rome: Defiance of the Legion – 54 B.C

Rome: Tempest of the Legion – 49-48 B.C.

Rome: Sword of the Legion – 48 B.C.

 

Sons of Rome (Rise of Emperors Book 1)

Sons of Rome (Rise of Emperors Book 1)
MainCategory:
Type:
Genre:
trope:
Lenght:
Seriesize:

‘A page turner from beginning to end… A damn fine read’ Ben Kane.
Four Emperors. Two Friends. One Destiny.
As twilight descends on the 3rd century AD, the Roman Empire is but a shadow of its former self. Decades of usurping emperors, splinter kingdoms and savage wars have left the people beleaguered, the armies weary and the future uncertain. And into this chaos Emperor Diocletian steps, reforming the succession to allow for not one emperor to rule the world, but four.

Meanwhile, two boys share a chance meeting in the great city of Treverorum as Diocletian’s dream is announced to the imperial court. Throughout the years that follow, they share heartbreak and glory as that dream sours and the empire endures an era of tyranny and dread. Their lives are inextricably linked, their destinies ever-converging as they rise through Rome’s savage stations, to the zenith of empire. For Constantine and Maxentius, the purple robes beckon…

Praise for Gordon Doherty and Simon Turney:

‘A page turner from beginning to end… A damn fine read’ Ben Kane, author of Lionheart

‘The Rise of Emperors series is first-rate Roman fiction. Doherty and Turney each breathe life into their respective characters with insight and humanity’ Matthew Harffy, author of Wolf of Wessex

The Burning Road

The Burning Road
MainCategory:
Period:
trope:
Lenght:

In the shadow of Sicily’s Mount Etna, a brutal rebellion is about to erupt . . .

The scorching new historical thriller from Sunday Times bestseller and Ancient Rome expert, Harry Sidebottom.

‘What Bernard Cornwell is to the Napoleonic Wars, Harry Sidebottom is to Roman legions: unassailable’ – THE TIMES
______________________

AD265 – Sicily, Ancient Rome: In the shadow of Mount Etna, slaves are rising up. As the rebel leader declares Sicily the new land of the free, men and women are slaughtered, and cities across the island are sacked and burned.

When a ship is wrecked off the island’s west coast, all but two survivors are cut down in the surf by the rebel slaves. Ballista, an experienced Roman soldier, has always found a way to survive against the odds – but his son Marcus is still just a boy.

With the burning road stretching out ahead of them, father and son must cross the war-ravaged island in a race against time to save the rest of his family, and somehow find a way to extinguish the brutal rebellion, before it all goes up in flames.

THE BURNING ROAD is the scorching new thriller from one of the world’s best historical novelists – for fans of Simon Scarrow, Conn Iggulden, Ben Kane and Bernard Cornwell.

Fire in the East (Warrior of Rome Book 1)

Fire in the East (Warrior of Rome Book 1)
Date:
MainCategory:
Period:
Genre:
trope:
Lenght:
Narrator:

A.D. 255. The Roman imperium is stretched to the breaking point, its authority and might challenged throughout the territories and along every border. One man is sent to marshal the defenses of a lonely city and to shore up the crumbling walls of a once indomitable symbol of Roman power, a man whose very name means war: a man called Ballista.

So unfolds an epic drama – a story of empire, heroes, treachery, courage, and most of all, of brutal, bloody warfare.

The spectacular flair for explosive action and depth of literary and geographic knowledge, as well as the psychological complexity of the characters, makes Fire in the East the most authoritative historical adventure novel this year.

Gladiatrix

Gladiatrix
Date:
MainCategory:
Period:
Type:
Genre:
trope:
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Protagonist:

The Ancient Roman public’s hunger for gladiatorial combat has never been greater. The Emperor Domitian’s passion for novelty and variety in the arena has given rise to a very different kind of warrior: the Gladiatrix.

Sole survivor of a shipwreck off the coast of Asia Minor, Lysandra finds herself the property of Lucius Balbus, owner of the foremost Ludus for female gladiators in the Eastern Empire. Lysandra, a member of an ancient Spartan sect of warrior priestesses, refuses to accept her new status as a slave. Forced to fight for survival, her deadly combat skills win the adoration of the crowds, the respect of Balbus.

But Lysandra’s Spartan pride also earns her powerful enemies: Sorina, Gladiatrix Prima and leader of the Barbarian faction, and the sadistic Numidian trainer, Nastasen. When plans are laid for the ultimate combat spectacle to honor the visit of the emperor’s powerful new emissary, Lysandra must face her greatest and deadliest trial.

This is a thrilling first novel that combines fascinating historical detail with blistering action.

Sword of the War God

Sword of the War God
MainCategory:
Period:
Genre:
trope:
Lenght:
Narrator:

In a world of war and ruin, men and gods collide.

436 AD. The Burgundars are confident of destroying Rome’s legions, for the Empire is weak. Their forces are strong and they have beaten the Romans in battle before.

But they are annihilated, their king killed, his people scattered. Their fabled treasure is lost. For Rome has new allies: the Huns, whose taste for bloodshed knows no bounds.

Many years later, the Huns, led by the fearsome Attila, have become the deadliest enemies of Rome. Attila seeks the Burgundars’ treasure, for it includes the legendary Sword of the War God, said to make the bearer unbeatable.

No alliance can defeat Attila by conventional means. With Rome desperate for help, a one-eyed old warlord from distant lands and his strange band of warriors may have the answers… but oaths will be broken and the plains of Europe will run with blood before the end.

Drawing on Norse mythology and European history, Sword of the War God is an epic historical adventure perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Joanne Harris, Neil Gaiman and Christian Cameron.

The Spear of Crom: a thrilling historical adventure set in Roman-occupied Celtic Britain

The Spear of Crom: a thrilling historical adventure set in Roman-occupied Celtic Britain
MainCategory:
Period:
Genre:
trope:
Lenght:
Narrator:

In Roman Britain, a Celtic warrior rides out on a deadly mission. A thrilling blend of legend and history, bloody battles and daring deeds by the author of the Whale Road Chronicles.

A priceless relic – a thankless quest – who will make it out alive?

Britannia, 58 AD. Fergus MacAmergin is a man out of place. An Irish Celt, he passes as a Gaul and rides with the Roman cavalry, affirming Nero’s control over the province. Fergus dreams of escaping the fetters ofhis birth and living freely as a citizen of Rome.

When Fergus’s commander makes a battlefield error, Fergus is blamed. He and his men are given a thankless task: a quest that spells danger, despair, and near-certain death. The mission: to find the Holy Lance, the spear that wounded Christ on the Cross.

The young Tribune Agricola is drawn into the quest, and he and Fergus must overlook their differences to survive. But there are plots and enemies everywhere. And just why is the Holy Lance so key to Roman mastery over Britannia?