Wool

Related Posts
365 Infantry Collection

For the brave wolven warriors of the 365th Infantry, the fight against the strange creations of the sentient computer A.C.E.S. is a nonstop war for the freedom of the Wastelands and those in the heart of the distorted metropolis Haven. Read more

Doomsday Morning

A classic, post-apocalyptic vision of America created by C. L. Moore, an undisputed master of science fiction’s golden age. In the wake of a nuclear war, the totalitarian system known as Comus has restored order in a shattered America. Comus Read more

Wool
Date:
MainCategory:
Type:
Genre:
trope:
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Author:
Reception:
Protagonist:

“One of dystopian fiction’s masterpieces alongside the likes of 1984 and Brave New World.” — Daily Express

The first book in the acclaimed, New York Times best-selling trilogy, Wool is the story of mankind clawing for survival. The world outside has grown toxic, the view of it limited, talk of it forbidden. The remnants of humanity live underground in a single silo.

But there are always those who hope, who dream. These are the dangerous people, the residents who infect others with their optimism. Their punishment is simple. They are given the very thing they want: They are allowed to go outside.

After the previous sheriff leaves the silo in a terrifying ritual, Juliette, a mechanic from the down deep, is suddenly and inexplicably promoted to the head of law enforcement. With newfound power and with little regard for the customs she is supposed to abide, Juliette uncovers hints of a sinister conspiracy. Tugging this thread may uncover the truth . . . or it could kill every last human alive.

The Charm School

The Charm School
Date:
MainCategory:
Period:
trope:
Lenght:
Narrator:
Reception:

On a dark road deep inside the Russian woods at Borodino, a young American tourist picks up an unusual passenger with an explosive secret: an U.S. POW on the run from “The Charm School,” a sinister operation where American POWs teach young KBG agents how to be model U.S. citizens.

Their goal? To infiltrate the United States undetected. With this horrifying conspiracy revealed, the CIA sets an investigation in motion, and three Americans–an Air Force officer, an embassy liaison, a CIA chief–pit themselves against the country’s enemies in a high-powered game of international intrigue.

Harlequin: The Grail Quest (The Archer’s Tale)

Harlequin: The Grail Quest (The Archer's Tale)
Date:
MainCategory:
Period:
Type:
Genre:
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Narrator:
Reception:

The year is 1342. The English, led by Edward III, are laying waste to the French countryside. The army may be led by the King, but it is the archers, the common men, who are England’s secret weapon. The French know them as Harlequins.

Thomas of Hookton is one of these archers. But he is also on a personal mission: To avenge his father’s death and retrieve a stolen relic.

Thomas begins a quest that will lead him through fields smeared with the smoke of fires set by the rampaging English, until at last the two armies face each other on a hillside near the village of Crécy.

To Sleep in a Sea of Stars (Fractalverse)

To Sleep in a Sea of Stars (Fractalverse)
MainCategory:
Type:
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Narrator:
Reception:
Protagonist:

To Sleep in a Sea of Stars is a brand new epic novel from #1 New York Times bestselling author of Eragon, Christopher Paolini.

Kira Navárez dreamed of life on new worlds.

Now she’s awakened a nightmare.

During a routine survey mission on an uncolonized planet, Kira finds an alien relic. At first she’s delighted, but elation turns to terror when the ancient dust around her begins to move.

As war erupts among the stars, Kira is launched into a galaxy-spanning odyssey of discovery and transformation. First contact isn’t at all what she imagined, and events push her to the very limits of what it means to be human.

While Kira faces her own horrors, Earth and its colonies stand upon the brink of annihilation. Now, Kira might be humanity’s greatest and final hope . . .

prequel : Fractal Noise

God of Vengeance: (The Rise of Sigurd)

God of Vengeance: (The Rise of Sigurd)
Date:
MainCategory:
Period:
Type:
Genre:
trope:
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Narrator:
Reception:

A glorious, bloody, perfect Viking saga of honour, courage, blood feud and revenge from the Sunday Times bestselling author of Lancelot, Giles Kristian. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Games of Thrones.

“Unrelenting pace, brilliant action and characters. A masterwork.” – CONN IGGULDEN
“Action-packed storytelling which stirs the blood and thrills the soul” – WILBUR SMITH
“Easily one of the best books I’ve had the pleasure to read” – ***** Reader review.

*******************************************************************************
IT BEGAN WITH THE BETRAYAL OF A LORD BY A KING…

Norway 785 AD
. When King Gorm puts Jarl Harald’s family to the sword, he makes one fatal mistake – he fails to kill Harald’s youngest son, Sigurd.

His kin slain, his village seized, his taken as slaves, Sigurd wonders if the gods have forsaken him. Hunted by powerful men, he is unsure who to trust and yet he has a small band of loyal followers at his side. With them – and with the help of the All-Father, Odin – he determines to make a king pay for his treachery.

Using cunning and war-craft, Sigurd gathers together a fellowship of warriors – including his father’s right-hand man Olaf, Bram (who men call Bear), Black Floki who wields death with a blade, and the shield maiden Valgerd, who fears no man – and convinces them to follow him.

For, whether Ódin is with him or not, Sigurd WILL have vengeance. And neither men nor gods had best stand in his way . . .

Sigurd’s story continues in 
Winter’s Fire.

Alas, Babylon

Alas, Babylon
Date:
MainCategory:
Genre:
Author:
Narrator:
Receptions: ,

“An extraordinary real picture of human beings numbed by catastrophe but still driven by the unconquerable determination of living creatures to keep on being alive.” —The New Yorker

The classic apocalyptic novel by Pat Frank, first published in 1959 at the height of the Cold War, with an introduction by award-winning science fiction writer and scientist David Brin.

“Alas, Babylon.” Those fateful words heralded the end. When the unthinkable nightmare of nuclear holocaust ravaged the United States, it was instant death for tens of millions of people; for survivors, it was a nightmare of hunger, sickness, and brutality. Overnight, a thousand years of civilization were stripped away.

But for one small Florida town, miraculously spared against all the odds, the struggle was only just beginning, as the isolated survivors—men and women of all ages and races—found the courage to come together and confront the harrowing darkness.

The Legacy of Heorot (Heorot Series)

THE CLASSIC HEOROT SERIES FROM GENRE LEGENDS LARRY NIVEN, JERRY POURNELLE, AND STEVEN BARNES

The two hundred colonists on board the Geographic have spent a century in cold sleep to arrive here: Avalon, a lush, verdant planet lightyears from Earth. They hope to establish a permanent colony, and Avalon seems the perfect place. And so they set about planting and building.

But their very presence has upset the ecology of Avalon. Soon an implacable predator stalks them, picking them off one by one. In order to defeat this alien enemy, they must reevaluate everything they think they know about Avalon, and uncover the planet’s dark secrets.

At the publisher’s request, this title is sold without DRM (Digital Rights Management).

About The Legacy of Heorot:
“Page-turning action and suspense, good characterization and convincing setting . . . may be the best thing any of those authors has written.”—The Denver Post

“Outstanding! . . . The best ever, by the best in the field . . . the ultimate combination of imagination and realism.”—Tom Clancy

Friday by Robert A. Heinlein

Friday by Robert A. Heinlein
Date:
MainCategory:
Lenght:
Reception:
Protagonist:

This Nebula- and Hugo-nominated novel is held in fond esteem by many Heinlein fans. Beginning in the early 1970s, Heinlein suffered from a number of health crises, including reversible neurologic dysfunction (toward the end of the decade), which greatly impacted the quality of his writing.

Friday, first published in 1982, is considered his “comeback” book. Much more reminiscent of his earlier, tighter works, it shows the Grand Master back in his earlier form. The novel revolves around a genetically engineered woman who is one of the strongest female protagonists in the science fiction genre of that era. The story follows the adventures of this highly trained, combat-ready courier, from the time she is ambushed and tortured by an enemy group seeking the package she is carrying, to an eventual betrayal that tests her extraordinary abilities and resolve.

Friday was met with widespread critical acclaim, from both fans and critics, with Publishers Weekly declaring that the book “should fly” and Poul Anderson claiming it among Heinlein’s best.

Double Star

Double Star
Date:
MainCategory:
Lenght:
Narrator:
Receptions: ,
Many of Heinlein’s fans consider the novels he wrote in the fifties amongst the author’s strongest work; when he was at the peak of his talents. Double Star is considered by many to be the finest of his titles. Brian Aldiss called it his “most enjoyable novel.”
Whether it is the simplicity of a lively tale, the complexity of the situation, or the depth of characterization, the book has developed a loyal following. It also won Heinlein his first Hugo.

The story revolves around Lawrence Smith—also known as “Lorenzo the Great”—a down-and-out actor wasting the remainder of his life in bars.

When he encounters a space-pilot who offers him a drink, before he knows what is going on, he is on Mars involved in a deep conspiracy with global consequences. He is given a mission where failure would not only mean his own death, it would almost certainly mean an all-out planetary war.

“Heinlein’s novels of the 1940s and 50s shaped every single science fiction writer of my generation and everyone currently writing science fiction. Or making science fiction movies … and Double Star is an excellent example of all the reasons why.”—Connie Willis

The Godfather: 50th Anniversary Edition

The Godfather: 50th Anniversary Edition
Date:
MainCategory:
Type:
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Author:
Narrator:
Receptions: ,

Mario Puzo’s classic saga of an American crime family that became a global phenomenonnominated as one of America’s best-loved novels by PBS’s The Great American Read.

With its brilliant and brutal portrayal of the Corleone family, The Godfather burned its way into our national consciousness. This unforgettable saga of crime and corruption, passion and loyalty continues to stand the test of time, as the definitive novel of the Mafia underworld.

A #1 New York Times bestseller in 1969, Mario Puzo’s epic was turned into the incomparable film of the same name, directed by Francis Ford Coppola, which won the Academy Award for Best Picture. It is the original classic that has been often imitated, but never matched. A tale of family and society, law and order, obedience and rebellion, it reveals the dark passions of human nature played out against a backdrop of the American dream.
50th ANNIVERSARY EDITION—WITH A NEW INTRODUCTION BY FRANCIS FORD COPPOLA
With a Note from Anthony Puzo and an Afterword by Robert J. Thompson