Scaramouche

Related Posts
1610: A Sundial In A Grave

The year is 1610. Continental Europe is briefly at peace after years of war, but Henri IV of France is planning to invade the German principalities. In England, only five years earlier, conspirators nearly succeeded in blowing up King James Read more

The Tavern Knightby Rafael Sabatini

This is a story about a man's quest for vengeance against two wealthy, snobbish, upper class individuals who'd caused him grief and anguish many years ago. But, when his "best laid plans" went awry, he found himself in one predicament Read more

Scaramouche
Date:
MainCategory:
Type:
Genre:
Seriesize:
Narrator:
Reception:

Scaramouche: A Romance of the French Revolution by Rafael Sabatini is a historical novel set during the tumultuous period of the French Revolution.

The story follows the adventures of André-Louis Moreau, a young lawyer and fencing master. After a personal tragedy, André-Louis becomes embroiled in the revolutionary fervor and assumes the identity of Scaramouche, a roguish and quick-witted character.

As he navigates the political upheavals of the time, André-Louis becomes a key player in the revolutionary events, encountering love, betrayal, and the complexities of justice.

The novel skillfully blends historical events with swashbuckling action, providing a thrilling and engaging tale against the backdrop of one of history’s most dramatic periods.

sequel : Scaramouche the King-Maker

Young Bloods: Wellington and Napoleon

YOUNG BLOODS is the first gripping novel in Simon Scarrow’s bestselling Wellington and Napoleon quartet. Perfect for fans of Robert Harris.

Arthur Wesley (the future Duke of Wellington) was born and bred to be a leader. With a firm belief that the nation must be led by a king, the red-coated British officer heads for battle against the French Republic, to restore the fallen monarchy.

Napoleon Bonaparte joins the French military on the eve of the Revolution. He believes leadership is won by merit, not by noble birth. When anarchy explodes in Paris he’s thrust into the revolutionary army poised to march against Britain.

As two mighty Empires embark on a bloody duel, Wesley and Bonaparte prepare to face a sworn enemy, unaware that the fate of Europe will one day lie in their hands…

Rhataloo : A Takamo Universe Novel (Muto Chronicles)

My name is Sedrick. I’m a man-size, space-faring rhat. I’m also executive officer for an interstellar cargo ship—the Granum. My captain and I are in a wee bit of trouble. We’ve been summoned by the Emperor’s auditors. Now, That doesn’t sound ominous. But, believe me, it is. These aren’t your typical bean-counters. These guys will extract a nose or a tail if you mess up. And we messed up.

It was a simple job. Deliver a hold packed with cheese and spirits to a backwater planet in the Orion spur. Things didn’t go as planned. They never do on a ship full of buffoons and malcontents. Chief among my problems were those two scientists Dontel and Uzel. Their spectacular bungle landed us on Earth, an even more backwater world than the one we were headed for. No starships, no flight—not even a lightbulb!

I did my executive level best—threatening, bargaining, and stunning to get the job done. To get the hold filled. The Granum was safe and secure. Nestled within a forest in northeastern France. I made connections with the locals. I had a plan!

Then the soldiers arrived. All sorts of soldiers. It was an absolute mess. A scheduling nightmare! How was I to gauge the long-term effects? The galactic repercussions?

And now our lives and livelihoods are at stake again. The best I can hope for? This memory machine the auditors have me connected to will cook my brain.

Under Enemy Colors (A Charles Hayden Novel Book 1)

Born to an English father and a French mother, lieutenant Charles Saunders Hayden?s career is damned by his ?mixed? heritage. Assigned to the HMS Themis, an aging frigate under the command of a captain reviled by his crew for both his brutality towards his men and his cowardice in battle, Hayden is torn between honor and duty, as the British navy engages the French in a centuries-old struggle for power.

Sails on the Horizon: A Novel of the Napoleonic Wars

The year is 1797. Napoleon Buonaparte is racking up impressive wins in the field against the enemies of revolutionary France, while on the seas England is putting up a staunch resistance. Twenty-five-year-old Charles Edgemont is second lieutenant aboard the British ship Argonaut. When orders come for the Argonaut to engage in an all-but-suicidal maneuver to prevent the escape of Spanish ships off the coast of Portugal, he leads his gun crews bravely—until the deaths of the captain and first lieutenant elevate him to commander.

For refusing to yield to enemy fire, Charles is permanently promoted and generously rewarded by the Admiralty, becoming wealthy beyond his wildest dreams. Yet upon his return home, his newfound riches prove no help when it comes to winning the heart of Penelope Brown, who regards war as sinful and soldiers as little better than murderers. Changing Penelope’s mind may just be the hardest battle Charles has ever fought—at least until fresh orders send him back to sea, where he faces a formidable adversary in a series of stirring battles of will and might.

“Well executed . . . demonstrating Worrall’s expertise in ship and sea warfare history . . . Readers will root for [Charles Edgemont]. . . . He handily defeats veteran seamen, takes enormous chances and is always rewarded.”—Publishers Weekly

A Certain Threat (The Merriman Chronicles Book 1)

The Year 1792. With French Revolutionary agents travelling freely but secretly between Ireland and England and war with France inevitable, the English government of Mr. Pitt is desperately anxious to uncover any plots between Irish rebels and the French.

Lieutenant James Merriman with his ship, the sloop Aphrodite, is ordered to the Irish Sea to assist the principal Treasury agent Mr. Grahame in this work. Merriman is plunged headlong into the world of espionage and when Grahame is seriously wounded it falls to Merriman to carry on the investigation.

Young James Merriman must keep all his wits about him to foil these plans especially when his adversary is revealed to be an exceptional French agent Henri Moreau who hopes that by helping the Irish to throw off the English yoke, France will be able to use Irish ports from which to attack England.

Hornblower and The Island (Hornblower’s legacy Book 1)

Even as a prisoner on the remote island of St. Helena, Napoleon Bonaparte is embarrassing the British, and England is now the laughing stock of Europe. The answer is a new Governor: Lord Horatio Hornblower. The British government is betting that Hornblower’s background, being so similar to Bonaparte’s, will earn the Corsican’s respect. Both men rose from humble beginnings to nobility by his achievements alone. Both have commanded men and lead them to victories. Hornblower’s mission is simple: deal with the greatest military genius of the modern era and make him behave. Hornblower discovers a Bonaparte that history never knew, and learns the truth about the man who would be Emperor of the world.

Sharpe’s Tiger: The Siege of Seringapatam, 1799 (sharpe serie)

Sharpe's Tiger
Date:
MainCategory:
Type:
Genre:
trope:
Published: 1999-07-07
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Narrator:
Reception:

 

Richard Sharpe. Soldier, hero, rogue—the man you always want on your side. Born in poverty, he joined the army to escape jail and climbed the ranks by sheer brutal courage.

He knows no other family than the regiment of the 95th Rifles, whose green jacket he proudly wears.

“The greatest writer of historical adventures today.”
Washington Post

Mr. Midshipman Hornblower (hornblower saga)

Horatio Hornblower, only seventeen years old, gets his sea legs in this “absolutely compelling” (San Francisco Chronicle) first installment of C. S. Forester’s classic naval adventure series.

The year is 1793, the eve of the Napoleonic Wars, and Horatio Hornblower, a seventeen-year-old boy unschooled in seafaring and the ways of seamen, is ordered to board a French merchant ship and take command of crew and cargo for the glory of England. Though not an unqualified success, this first naval adventure teaches the young midshipman enough to launch him on a series of increasingly glorious exploits. This novel — in which young Horatio gets his sea legs, proves his mettle, and shows the makings of the legend he will become — is the first of the eleven swashbuckling Hornblower tales that are today regarded as classic adventure stories of the sea.

“I recommend Forester to every literate I know.” –Ernest Hemingway

Master and Commander (Aubrey-Maturin, Book 1) (Aubrey & Maturin series)

Master and Commander (Vol. Book 1) (Aubrey/Maturin Novels)
Date:
MainCategory:
Type:
Published: 1990-08-17
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Narrator:
Receptions: ,

The beginning of the sweeping Aubrey-Maturin series. “The best sea story I have ever read.”—Sir Francis Chichester This, the first in the splendid series of Jack Aubrey novels, establishes the friendship between Captain Aubrey, R.N., and Stephen Maturin, ship’s surgeon and intelligence agent, against a thrilling backdrop of the Napoleonic wars.

Details of a life aboard a man-of-war in Nelson’s navy are faultlessly rendered: the conversational idiom of the officers in the ward room and the men on the lower deck, the food, the floggings, the mysteries of the wind and the rigging, and the roar of broadsides as the great ships close in battle.