The Scarlet Thief: Battle of the Alma, 1854 (Jack Lark Book 1)

Related Posts
The Last Dying Light: A Novel of Belisarius (The Last of the Romans Book 1)

Rome has fallen into darkness. Its legacy remains alive in Constantinople, whose leaders struggle to retain control of a decaying land. Yet famine, war, and an encroaching night leave the Eastern Empire trending towards ruin. Faint hope arises as a Read more

The Age of Fighting Sail: The Story of the Naval War of 1812

No one has been so well equipped as C. S. Forester to dramatize the sea battles of the War of 1812, to characterize the heroes more skillfully, or to comprehend more shrewdly the world unrest that made it possible for Read more

The Scarlet Thief: Battle of the Alma, 1854 (Jack Lark Book 1)
Date:
MainCategory:
Type:
Genre:
trope:
Lenght:
Seriesize:

INTRODUCING JACK LARK: SOLDIER, LEADER, IMPOSTER.

The first book in the compelling military adventure series for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Conn Iggulden and Matthew Harffy.

‘Brilliant’ Bernard Cornwell

‘Quite simply do yourself a favour and read these books’ S.J.A. Turney

‘Nobody writing today depicts the chaos, terror and brutality of war better’ Matthew Harffy

1854: The banks of the Alma River, Crimean Peninsula.

The men of the King’s Royal Fusiliers are in terrible trouble. Young officer Jack Lark has to act immediately and decisively. His life and the success of the campaign depend on it. But does he have the mettle, the officer qualities that are the life blood of the British Army?

From a poor background in London’s East End, Lark has risen through the ranks by stealth and guile and now he faces the ultimate test…

Young Bloods: Wellington and Napoleon

YOUNG BLOODS is the first gripping novel in Simon Scarrow’s bestselling Wellington and Napoleon quartet. Perfect for fans of Robert Harris.

Arthur Wesley (the future Duke of Wellington) was born and bred to be a leader. With a firm belief that the nation must be led by a king, the red-coated British officer heads for battle against the French Republic, to restore the fallen monarchy.

Napoleon Bonaparte joins the French military on the eve of the Revolution. He believes leadership is won by merit, not by noble birth. When anarchy explodes in Paris he’s thrust into the revolutionary army poised to march against Britain.

As two mighty Empires embark on a bloody duel, Wesley and Bonaparte prepare to face a sworn enemy, unaware that the fate of Europe will one day lie in their hands…

The Unknown Shore

Inspired by the Wager disaster, The Unknown Shore is an immediate precursor to Patrick O’Brian’s acclaimed Aubrey/Maturin series that displays all the splendid prose and attention to detail that delight O’Brian’s millions of fans.

Patrick O’Brian’s first novel about the sea, The Golden Ocean, took inspiration from Commodore George Anson’s fateful circumnavigation of the globe in 1740. In The Unknown Shore, O’Brian returns to this rich source and mines it brilliantly for another, quite different tale of exploration and adventure.

The Wager was parted from Anson’s squadron in the fierce storms off Cape Horn and struggled alone up the coast of Chile until she was driven against the rocks and sank. The survivors were soon involved in trouble of every kind. A surplus of rum, a disappearing stock of food, and a hard, detested captain soon drove them into drunkenness, mutiny, and bloodshed. After many months of privation, a handful of men made their way northward under the guidance of a band of Indians, at last finding safety in Valparaiso.

This saga of survival is the background to the adventures of two young men aboard the Wager: midshipman Jack Byron and his friend Tobias Barrow, an alarmingly naive surgeon’s mate. Patrick O’Brian’s many devoted readers will take particular interest in this story, as Jack and Toby form a kind of blueprint for Jack Aubrey and Stephen Maturin, the famed heroes of the great Aubrey/Maturin series to come.

The Captain’s Nephew (The Alexander Clay Series Book 1)

The Captain's Nephew
Date:
MainCategory:
Type:
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Narrator:

The Royal Navy battles to protect England’s coastline with its ships of oak.

After a century of war, revolutions, and Imperial conquests, 1790s Britain is still embroiled in a battle for control of the sea and of colonies, with France, led by Napoleon Bonaparte, the leading contender.

Tall ships navigate familiar and foreign waters, and ambitious young men without rank or status seek their futures in Naval commands.

First Lieutenant Alexander Clay of HMS Agrius is self-made, clever, and ready for the new age. But the old world, dominated by patronage, retains a tight hold on advancement. Though Clay has proven himself many times over, Captain Percy Follett is determined to ignore his obvious talents and promote his own nephew.

Before Clay finds a way to receive due credit for his exploits, he’ll first need to survive them.

Ill-conceived expeditions ashore, hunts for privateers in treacherous fog, and a desperate chase across the Atlantic are only some of the challenges he faces. He brings his ship and crew through a series of adventures stretching from the bleak coast of Flanders to the warm waters of the Caribbean.

Only then might high society recognize his achievements—and allow him to ask for the hand of Lydia Browning, the woman who loves him regardless of his station.

Under Enemy Colors (A Charles Hayden Novel Book 1)

Born to an English father and a French mother, lieutenant Charles Saunders Hayden?s career is damned by his ?mixed? heritage. Assigned to the HMS Themis, an aging frigate under the command of a captain reviled by his crew for both his brutality towards his men and his cowardice in battle, Hayden is torn between honor and duty, as the British navy engages the French in a centuries-old struggle for power.

The King’s Coat: An Alan Lewrie Naval Adventure (Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures)

The King's Coat: An Alan Lewrie Naval Adventure (Alan Lewrie Naval Adventures)
Date:
MainCategory:
Type:
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Narrator:
Reception:

THE FIRST NOVEL IN THE CLASSIC SERIES OF ALAN LEWRIE NAVAL ADVENTURES

1780: Seventeen-year-old Alan Lewrie is a brash, rebellious young libertine. So much so that his callous father believes a bit of navy discipline will turn the boy around. Fresh aboard the tall-masted Ariadne, Midshipman Lewrie heads for the war-torn Americas, finding–rather unexpectedly–that he is a born sailor, equally at home with the randy pleasures of the port and the raging battles on the high seas. But in a hail of cannonballs comes a bawdy surprise…

The King’s Coat introduces us to Alan Lewrie, hero of Dewey Lambdin’s acclaimed series of naval adventures, which have often been compared to those by C.S. Forester and Patrick O’Brian.

A Certain Threat (The Merriman Chronicles Book 1)

The Year 1792. With French Revolutionary agents travelling freely but secretly between Ireland and England and war with France inevitable, the English government of Mr. Pitt is desperately anxious to uncover any plots between Irish rebels and the French.

Lieutenant James Merriman with his ship, the sloop Aphrodite, is ordered to the Irish Sea to assist the principal Treasury agent Mr. Grahame in this work. Merriman is plunged headlong into the world of espionage and when Grahame is seriously wounded it falls to Merriman to carry on the investigation.

Young James Merriman must keep all his wits about him to foil these plans especially when his adversary is revealed to be an exceptional French agent Henri Moreau who hopes that by helping the Irish to throw off the English yoke, France will be able to use Irish ports from which to attack England.

Bloody Jack: Being an Account of the Curious Adventures of Mary ‘Jacky’ Faber, Ship’s Boy

Bloody Jack: Being an Account of the Curious Adventures of Mary 'Jacky' Faber, Ship's Boy
Date:
MainCategory:
Type:
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Author:
Protagonist:

Life as a ship’s boy aboard HMS Dolphin is a dream come true for Jacky Faber. Gone are the days of scavenging for food and fighting for survival on the streets of eighteenth-century London. Instead, Jacky is becoming a skilled and respected sailor as the crew pursues pirates on the high seas.

There’s only one problem: Jacky is a girl. And she will have to use every bit of her spirit, wit, and courage to keep the crew from discovering her secret. This could be the adventure of her life–if only she doesn’t get caught. . . .

Kim by Rudyard Kipling

1901 (the first) edition. illustrated

“Kim” is a novel by Nobel Prize-winning English author Rudyard Kipling. “Kim” is listed on the BBC’s The Big Read poll of the UK’s “best-loved novel.”Book is considered by many to be Kipling’s masterpiece, one of the best stories in English about India.It is a tale of adventure, a drama of a boy, a mystical story that unfolds against the backdrop of “The Great Game”, the political conflict between Russia and Britain in Central Asia. Story is set after the Second Afghan War (ended 1881).

The story is set after the Second Afghan War (which ended in 1881), but before the Third (fought in 1919)

Kim (Kimball O’Hara) is the orphaned son of an Irish soldier and a poor Irish mother, living a vagabond existence in India under British rule in the late 19th century. Kim earns his living by begging and running small errands on the streets of Lahore. He becomes lama’s disciple, is trained as an English spy, travels around the India, performs spy missions.

 

Hornblower and The Island (Hornblower’s legacy Book 1)

Even as a prisoner on the remote island of St. Helena, Napoleon Bonaparte is embarrassing the British, and England is now the laughing stock of Europe. The answer is a new Governor: Lord Horatio Hornblower. The British government is betting that Hornblower’s background, being so similar to Bonaparte’s, will earn the Corsican’s respect. Both men rose from humble beginnings to nobility by his achievements alone. Both have commanded men and lead them to victories. Hornblower’s mission is simple: deal with the greatest military genius of the modern era and make him behave. Hornblower discovers a Bonaparte that history never knew, and learns the truth about the man who would be Emperor of the world.