Sigyn of Asgard: Volume One: The Vultures will Know and Other Tales

Related Posts
Bran Mak Morn

From Robert E. Howard’s fertile imagination sprang some of fiction’s greatest heroes, including Conan the Cimmerian, King Kull, and Solomon Kane. But of all Howard’s characters, none embodied his creator’s brooding temperament more than Bran Mak Morn, the last king Read more

The Last Lieutenant (The Todd Ingram Series Book 1)

“Powerful and engaging. Truly an inspiring and emotional story of bravery and sacrifice … a must read.” —Nelson DeMille, #1 NYT Bestselling Author The year is 1942. Bataan has fallen to the Japanese. The Philippines seem sure to follow. When a Read more

Sigyn of Asgard: Volume One: The Vultures will Know and Other Tales
MainCategories: ,
Period:
Lenght:
Seriesize:

Not satisfied with the austere life offered by her barbaric homeland, Sigyn wanders southward to tread the dust of such exotic lands as Greece, Egypt, Persia, and still more wondrous locales, all the while contending with warriors, wizards, and the grim forces of the outer gulfs.
Set in the myth-shrouded era of the Bronze Age Collapse. The Sigyn tales hearken back to the glory days of weird pulp fantasy.

book 2 here

An Oblique Approach (Belisarius Saga)

An Oblique Approach (Belisarius Saga)
Date:
MainCategory:
Period:
Type:
Genre:
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Narrator:

ALIEN MINDS BATTLE
FOR BYZANTIUM

In northern India the Malwa have created an empire of unexampled evil. Guided or possessed by an intelligence from beyond time, with new weapons, old treachery, and an implacable will to power, the Malwa will sweep over the whole Earth.

Only three things stand between the Malwa and their plan of eternal domination: the empire of Rome in the East, Byzantium; a crystal with vision; and a man named Belisarius, the greatest commander Earth has ever know. . . .

Khai of Khem

Khai of Khem
Date:
MainCategory:
Period:
Genre:
Lenght:
Author:
Narrator:

Considered by many to be among Brian Lumley’s greatest works, the exciting Khai of Khem is little-known in the US. This time-traveling adventure story spans centuries and cultures in Lumley’s trademark mix of horror and science fiction, much like his internationally-best-selling Necroscope series. Like the Necroscope novels, Khai of Khem is packed with fast-paced action, hair’s-breadth escapes, all-consuming love, endless horror, and, in the person of Khai himself, quick wits and bravery in the teeth of danger

Khai begins life in ancient Egypt as the son of Pharaoh Khasathut’s chief architect. Believing Pharaoh to be a god, Khai is stunned to learn that the supposedly great and wise leader is a shriveled, ancient fossil of a man whose chief desires are to deflower young virgins and achieve eternal life through the powers of his black magicians. When Khai dares to raise a hand to Pharaoh, he is condemned to be a slave.

Escaping, Khai flees to neighboring Kush where he earns the rank of general in the army of Queen Ashtarta…and a place in Ashtarta’s bed. In the heat of battle against Pharaoh’s armies, Khai is betrayed by his best friend and falls victim to the evil spells of Khasathut’s magicians, who send his soul winging centuries into the future.

In modern America, Khai searches for the reincarnated souls of his love, Ashtarta, and of his betrayer. Khai is amazed by many of the wonders of the modern world-television, air conditioning, and especially guns, bombs, and other weapons. Returning to his own time, Khai uses the technologies he saw in the future to rewrite the past. But will he and Ashtarta be in time to prevent Khasathut from attaining immortality and using newly-gained alien powers to destroy all of Khem and Kush?

The Mighty Sons of Hercules : Volume 1

Long ago, in ages past…

There were men who travelled the world, seeking adventure, fighting injustice, defending the weak and the helpless, looking to right wrongs wherever they are found:

These were the Mighty Sons of Hercules!

Cirsova Publishing invites you to join eight of the Mighty Sons of Hercules on their daring adventures!

You’ll be amazed by their impressive feats of superhuman strength. You’ll be dazzled by the exotic and dangerous beauties who would seek their downfall. You’ll cheer as they save the innocent from peril and mete out justice to dastardly villains.

Wherever righteousness must have a champion, there you will find the Mighty Sons of Hercules! Whenever there is need and no mortal man can suffice, a Mighty Son of Hercules shall appear!

Dagger and Vow: An Adventure in Ancient Rome (Forgotten Heroes of Rome Book 1)

Dagger and Vow: An Adventure in Ancient Rome (Forgotten Heroes of Rome Book 1)
MainCategory:
Period:
Type:
Genre:
trope:
Lenght:
Seriesize:

Marcus Varro is content to work on his father’s farm, selling barley in the markets of Rome. He has vowed to uphold a simple life of peace. Then the Roman Legions find him.

A war that should not be sweeps Varro from his idyllic farm and carries him across the Aegean Sea to a land under siege. His vow of peace is stretched to its limits as he is plunged into blood and battle.

The ceaseless march of the Republican Roman Army spares none.Yet a greater threat stalks Varro, more dangerous and more personal than any enemy soldier. Can he survive in an army where he faces swords to his front and daggers at his back?

Sword of the Legion Series

Sword of the Legion Series
Date:
MainCategory:
Period:
Type:
tropes: ,
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Narrator:
57 B.C., Gaul – Marching with Caesar’s legions against the defiant Belgic tribes, legionary Lucius Domitius narrowly survives an attempt on his life. He is shocked to discover that someone in the higher ranks wants him dead. Unable to trust even his oldest comrades,
Lucius must expose his assailant before the murderer tries again. But as Lucius begins to unravel the plot, he learns that he is just a pawn in a much grander scheme – a scheme to betray the proconsul, Gaius Julius Caesar, and the entire Roman army, to the savagery of the enemy.
All of their fates converge on the banks of a lazy river in the Belgic lands, where the stalwart legions are attacked by an army of spear-wielding, axe-swinging warriors twice their number in the epic Battle of the Sabis.
4 books :

Rome: Fury of the Legion- 57 B.C.

Rome: Defiance of the Legion – 54 B.C

Rome: Tempest of the Legion – 49-48 B.C.

Rome: Sword of the Legion – 48 B.C.

 

The Burning Road

The Burning Road
MainCategory:
Period:
trope:
Lenght:

In the shadow of Sicily’s Mount Etna, a brutal rebellion is about to erupt . . .

The scorching new historical thriller from Sunday Times bestseller and Ancient Rome expert, Harry Sidebottom.

‘What Bernard Cornwell is to the Napoleonic Wars, Harry Sidebottom is to Roman legions: unassailable’ – THE TIMES
______________________

AD265 – Sicily, Ancient Rome: In the shadow of Mount Etna, slaves are rising up. As the rebel leader declares Sicily the new land of the free, men and women are slaughtered, and cities across the island are sacked and burned.

When a ship is wrecked off the island’s west coast, all but two survivors are cut down in the surf by the rebel slaves. Ballista, an experienced Roman soldier, has always found a way to survive against the odds – but his son Marcus is still just a boy.

With the burning road stretching out ahead of them, father and son must cross the war-ravaged island in a race against time to save the rest of his family, and somehow find a way to extinguish the brutal rebellion, before it all goes up in flames.

THE BURNING ROAD is the scorching new thriller from one of the world’s best historical novelists – for fans of Simon Scarrow, Conn Iggulden, Ben Kane and Bernard Cornwell.

Fire in the East (Warrior of Rome Book 1)

Fire in the East (Warrior of Rome Book 1)
Date:
MainCategory:
Period:
Genre:
trope:
Lenght:
Narrator:

A.D. 255. The Roman imperium is stretched to the breaking point, its authority and might challenged throughout the territories and along every border. One man is sent to marshal the defenses of a lonely city and to shore up the crumbling walls of a once indomitable symbol of Roman power, a man whose very name means war: a man called Ballista.

So unfolds an epic drama – a story of empire, heroes, treachery, courage, and most of all, of brutal, bloody warfare.

The spectacular flair for explosive action and depth of literary and geographic knowledge, as well as the psychological complexity of the characters, makes Fire in the East the most authoritative historical adventure novel this year.

Gladiatrix

Gladiatrix
Date:
MainCategory:
Period:
Type:
Genre:
trope:
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Protagonist:

The Ancient Roman public’s hunger for gladiatorial combat has never been greater. The Emperor Domitian’s passion for novelty and variety in the arena has given rise to a very different kind of warrior: the Gladiatrix.

Sole survivor of a shipwreck off the coast of Asia Minor, Lysandra finds herself the property of Lucius Balbus, owner of the foremost Ludus for female gladiators in the Eastern Empire. Lysandra, a member of an ancient Spartan sect of warrior priestesses, refuses to accept her new status as a slave. Forced to fight for survival, her deadly combat skills win the adoration of the crowds, the respect of Balbus.

But Lysandra’s Spartan pride also earns her powerful enemies: Sorina, Gladiatrix Prima and leader of the Barbarian faction, and the sadistic Numidian trainer, Nastasen. When plans are laid for the ultimate combat spectacle to honor the visit of the emperor’s powerful new emissary, Lysandra must face her greatest and deadliest trial.

This is a thrilling first novel that combines fascinating historical detail with blistering action.

Sword of the War God

Sword of the War God
MainCategory:
Period:
Genre:
trope:
Lenght:
Narrator:

In a world of war and ruin, men and gods collide.

436 AD. The Burgundars are confident of destroying Rome’s legions, for the Empire is weak. Their forces are strong and they have beaten the Romans in battle before.

But they are annihilated, their king killed, his people scattered. Their fabled treasure is lost. For Rome has new allies: the Huns, whose taste for bloodshed knows no bounds.

Many years later, the Huns, led by the fearsome Attila, have become the deadliest enemies of Rome. Attila seeks the Burgundars’ treasure, for it includes the legendary Sword of the War God, said to make the bearer unbeatable.

No alliance can defeat Attila by conventional means. With Rome desperate for help, a one-eyed old warlord from distant lands and his strange band of warriors may have the answers… but oaths will be broken and the plains of Europe will run with blood before the end.

Drawing on Norse mythology and European history, Sword of the War God is an epic historical adventure perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Joanne Harris, Neil Gaiman and Christian Cameron.