Under the Eagle: A Tale of Military Adventure and Reckless Heroism with the Roman Legions(Eagles of the Empire)

Related Posts
First Blood (The novel that inspired Rambo)

From New York Times bestselling author, David Morrell, comes a classic thriller that introduced the character of Rambo, one of the most iconic action heroes of the twentieth century. Called “the father of the modern action novel,” FIRST BLOOD changed the genre. Read more

Mann’s Marauders : A Planet Too Far

In the last days of Earth, Mega-Corporations controlled the bulk of the planet, becoming governments unto themselves. After they depleted Earth’s resources and destroyed the environment, the survivors had to abandon Earth. Then it was time to search out new Read more

Under the Eagle: A Tale of Military Adventure and Reckless Heroism with the Roman Legions(Eagles of the Empire)
Date:
MainCategory:
Type:
tropes: ,
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Narrator:
Reception:

In this first book of a new historical fiction series, a crack Roman legion invades Britain in this brazen tale of military adventure, political intrigue and heroism

It is the year 42 AD, and Centurion Macro, battle-scarred and fearless, is in the heart of Germany with the Second Legion, the toughest in the Roman army. Cato, a new recruit and the newly appointed second-in-command to Macro, will have more to prove than most. In a bloody skirmish with local tribes, Cato gets his first chance to prove that he’s more than a callow, privileged youth. As their next campaign takes them to a land of unparalleled barbarity – Britain – a special mission unfolds, thrusting Cato and Macro headlong into a conspiracy that threatens to topple the Emperor himself.

Filled with the kind of historical details that brings the adventure to life, Simon Scarrow’s Under the Eagle is destined to become a military fiction classic.

Young Bloods: Wellington and Napoleon

YOUNG BLOODS is the first gripping novel in Simon Scarrow’s bestselling Wellington and Napoleon quartet. Perfect for fans of Robert Harris.

Arthur Wesley (the future Duke of Wellington) was born and bred to be a leader. With a firm belief that the nation must be led by a king, the red-coated British officer heads for battle against the French Republic, to restore the fallen monarchy.

Napoleon Bonaparte joins the French military on the eve of the Revolution. He believes leadership is won by merit, not by noble birth. When anarchy explodes in Paris he’s thrust into the revolutionary army poised to march against Britain.

As two mighty Empires embark on a bloody duel, Wesley and Bonaparte prepare to face a sworn enemy, unaware that the fate of Europe will one day lie in their hands…

Warrior: The epic story of Caratacus, warrior Briton and enemy of the Roman Empire

Warrior: The epic story of Caratacus, warrior Briton and enemy of the Roman Empire
MainCategory:
Newstuff:
Type:
Genre:
trope:
Lenght:
Narrator:

The epic story of Caratacus: a barbarian king who led the tribes of Britannia against mighty Rome . . .

AD 18, Britannia.

The Roman Empire rules much of the known world. Beyond the northern frontier lies Britannia, where ceaseless feuding amongst the Celts leaves the island vulnerable to Rome’s ambitions.

Caratacus, son of a powerful king, has no premonition of destiny when he is dispatched to train with the Druids. A brutal regime transforms the young prince into a warrior with unparalleled military skills – and the strategic cunning essential to outwit a stronger enemy.

Nothing can prepare a man for the vicious reality of war. When Caratacus’s father takes a stand against aggressive neighbouring tribes, the combat exercises are over; this is a fight to the death. Only the most ruthless of tactics offer any hope of victory. But Caratacus, and the loyal comrades willing to ride with him into hostile terrain, are ready to do whatever it takes – and endure any hardship – to defeat those set on destroying their kingdom . . .

As mayhem and carnage spread across the land, everywhere can be felt the malign influence of Rome. Even if the battle is won, conflict with the Empire lies ahead.

Warrior: first in the brand new Warlord of Britannia series from the Sunday Times bestselling authors of Invader and Pirata – the story of Britannia’s barbarian warlord Caratacus.

Blackout: A stunning thriller of wartime Berlin

Blackout: A stunning thriller of wartime Berlin
MainCategory:
Period:
Type:
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Narrator:

Berlin, December 1939

As Germany goes to war, the Nazis tighten their terrifying grip. Paranoia in the capital is intensified by a rigidly enforced blackout that plunges the city into oppressive darkness every night, as the bleak winter sun sets.

When a young woman is found brutally murdered, Criminal Inspector Horst Schenke is under immense pressure to solve the case, swiftly. Treated with suspicion by his superiors for his failure to join the Nazi Party, Schenke walks a perilous line – for disloyalty is a death sentence.

The discovery of a second victim confirms Schenke’s worst fears. He must uncover the truth before evil strikes again.

As the investigation takes him closer to the sinister heart of the regime, Schenke realises there is danger everywhere – and the warring factions of the Reich can be as deadly as a killer stalking the streets . . .

Sword and Scimitar

Sword and Scimitar
Date:
MainCategory:
Genre:
Lenght:
Narrator:

Best-selling author Simon Scarrow brings the Great Siege of Malta to vivid and unforgettable life in this gripping standalone novel.

Malta, 1565: a vital outpost between the divided nations of Europe and the relentlessly expanding Ottoman Empire. Faced with ferocious attack by a vast Turkish fleet, the knights of the Order of St John fear annihilation.

Amongst those called to assist is disgraced veteran Sir Thomas Barrett. Loyalty and instinct compel him to put the Order above all other concerns, yet his allegiance is divided. At Queen Elizabeth’s command, he must search for a hidden scroll, guarded by the knights, that threatens her reign. As Sir Thomas confronts the past that cost him his honour and a secret that has long lain buried, a vast enemy army arrives to lay siege to the island….