Dangerous Visions by Harlan Ellison (classic)

Related Posts
The Elements of Sorcery

Contains: SORCERER'S CODE, SORCERER'S CRIME, SORCERER'S BLOOD, SORCERER'S WAR, SORCERER'S TRUTH No matter what you want to learn, everyone has to start somewhere. Edar Moncrief is a sorcerer: one of an elite few who can control manna, the life force Read more

Kingdom Trilogy: The Lion Wakes, The Lion at Bay, The Lion Rampant

A NATION WILL FIGHT FOR ITS FREEDOM. Robert Low’s Kingdom Series on the making of Scotland, now available in one complete eBook for the first time and featuring a new and exclusive Author’s Note on the series. THE LION WAKES Read more

Published in 1967 and contain 33 stories, it helped define the New Wave movement in science fiction

Among the contributor are : Isaac Asimov, Frederik Pohl,Fritz Leiber,Philip K. Dick,Roger Zelazny…
20 authors who had won, or would win, a HugoNebulaWorld Fantasy, or BSFA award

Dubbed “the most significant and controversial SF book” of its generation, Harlan Ellison’s groundbreaking collection launched an entire sub-genre: New Wave science fiction. With contributions from legendary authors and multiple Hugo and Nebula Awards, Dangerous Visions returns to print in a stunning new edition perfect for new and returning fans alike.

A landmark short story collection that put the more character-based New Wave science fiction on the map, Dangerous Visions won several prestigious awards and was nominated for many others. This now-classic anthology includes thirty-three stories by thirty-two award-winning authors, over half of whom have won multiple Hugo and Nebula Awards. Contributing authors include: Robert Silverberg, Frederik Pohl, Brian W. Aldiss, Philip K. Dick, Larry Niven, Fritz Leiber, Poul Anderson, Theodore Sturgeon, J.G. Ballard, Samuel R. Delany, and Ellison himself.

As relevant now as it was when first published, Dangerous Visions is a phenomenal collection that deserves a place on every bookshelf.

The full list of additional narrators includes:

Swords and Deviltry (Fafhrd and the Gray Mouser Book 1)

Swords and Deviltry (Fafhrd and the Gray Mouser Book 1)
Published: 1985-02-15
Receptions: ,

The award-winning sword and sorcery classic that introduced Fafhrd and the Gray Mouser, from a Grand Master of Science Fiction and Fantasy.

First in the influential fan-favorite series, Swords and Deviltry collects four fantastical adventure stories from Fritz Leiber, the author who coined the phrase “sword and sorcery” and helped birth an entire genre.

In “Induction,” in the realm of Nehwon, fate brings young prince Fafhrd and apprentice magician the Gray Mouser together to mark the beginning of a loyal and lifelong friendship. Consumed by his wicked mother’s enchantments, Fafhrd finds freedom by pursuing the love of a beautiful actress in the Nebula and Hugo Award–nominated “The Snow Women.” Studying sorcery under a great wizard in a land where it is forbidden, Mouse crosses the thin line between white and black magic to avenge a great wrong in “The Unholy Grail.” And in the Nebula and Hugo Award–winning novella “Ill Met in Lankhmar,” Fafhrd and the Gray Mouser disguise themselves as beggars to infiltrate the Thieves’ Guild—only to pay a horrible price for their greed when they come face-to-face with a monstrous evil.