The Fort: A Novel of the Revolutionary War

Related Posts
Cain at Gettysburg (The Battle Hymn Cycle)

Winner of the American Library Association's W. Y. Boyd Award for Excellence in Military Fiction Two mighty armies blunder toward each other, one led by confident, beloved Robert E. Lee and the other by dour George Meade. They'll meet in Read more

The Scarlet Thief: Battle of the Alma, 1854 (Jack Lark Book 1)

INTRODUCING JACK LARK: SOLDIER, LEADER, IMPOSTER. The first book in the compelling military adventure series for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Conn Iggulden and Matthew Harffy. 'Brilliant' Bernard Cornwell 'Quite simply do yourself a favour and read these books' S.J.A. Turney 'Nobody writing Read more

The Fort: A Novel of the Revolutionary War
Date:
MainCategory:
Genre:
trope:
Narrator:

From New York Times bestselling author Bernard Cornwell—one of the greatest yet little-known skirmishes of the Revolution: the Penobscot Expedition, a battle that would reveal the true character of a legendary Revolutionary hero.

This new novel takes place during the very early days of the rebellion, or the War of Independence, in 18th century Massachusetts before Washington and before the organization of a colonial army. A small British fleet with a few soldiers on board had sailed in to be met, to their surprise, with an overwhelming strength of local militia.

Cornwell tells the story on both sides of the conflict, based largely on real figures, including of course Paul Revere (famous from the much later poem).

Harlequin: The Grail Quest (The Archer’s Tale)

Harlequin: The Grail Quest (The Archer's Tale)
Date:
MainCategory:
Period:
Type:
Genre:
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Narrator:
Reception:

The year is 1342. The English, led by Edward III, are laying waste to the French countryside. The army may be led by the King, but it is the archers, the common men, who are England’s secret weapon. The French know them as Harlequins.

Thomas of Hookton is one of these archers. But he is also on a personal mission: To avenge his father’s death and retrieve a stolen relic.

Thomas begins a quest that will lead him through fields smeared with the smoke of fires set by the rampaging English, until at last the two armies face each other on a hillside near the village of Crécy.

Gallows Thief: A Novel by Bernard Cornwell

Gallows Thief
Date:
MainCategory:
Published: 2005-05-10
Lenght:
Narrator:
Reception:
The year is 1820. Rider Sandman, a hero of Waterloo, returns to London to wed his fiancÉe. But instead of settling down to fame and glory, he finds himself penniless in a country where high unemployment and social unrest rage, and where men—innocent or guilty—are hanged for the merest of crimes. When he's offered a job as private investigator to re-open the case of a painter due to be hanged for a murder he didn't…

Agincourt: A Novel by Bernard Cornwell

Agincourt LP
Date:
MainCategory:
Period:
Genre:
Published: 2009-02-03
Lenght:
Narrator:
Reception:
"The greatest writer of historical adventures today" (Washington Post) tackles his richest, most thrilling subject yet—the heroic tale of Agincourt. Young Nicholas Hook is dogged by a cursed past—haunted by what he has failed to do and banished for what he has done. A wanted man in England, he is driven to fight as a mercenary archer in France, where he finds two things he can love: his instincts as a fighting man, and a…

Stonehenge Paperback by Bernard Cornwell

Stonehenge
Date:
MainCategory:
Genre:
Published: 2004-12-14
Lenght:
Narrator:
Bestselling author Bernard Cornwell takes us back four thousand years, to a vibrant world of ritual and sacrifice that is at once timeless and wholly original. This historical novel unlocks the mystery of Britain's most haunting and puzzling structure, and tells a tale of three brothers—fierce rivals—who are uneasily united in their quest to create a temple to their gods. Lengar, the eldest brother, kills his own father to become chief of his tribe. Camaban,…

Uhtred’s Feast: Inside the World of The Last Kingdom

Uhtred's Feast
MainCategory:
Period:
Genre:
Published: 2023-05-25
Lenght:
Narrator:
Reception:
WELCOME TO UHTRED'S FEAST . . . The Last Kingdom is one of the most successful historical fiction series of our time, telling the epic story of the birth of England, and introducing one of the greatest ever fictional heroes: the iconic Uhtred of Bebbanburg. Saxon-born, Norse-raised, warrior and rebel. The final Last Kingdom book was published in 2020, but for the author the story felt unfinished: there were some Uhtred tales he still wanted…

The Last Kingdom (The Saxon Chronicles Series #1)

The Last Kingdom
Date:
MainCategory:
Period:
Type:
Genre:
Published: 2006-01-03
Seriesize:
Narrator:
Reception:
In the middle years of the ninth-century, the fierce Danes stormed onto British soil, hungry for spoils and conquest. Kingdom after kingdom fell to the ruthless invaders until but one realm remained. And suddenly the fate of all England—and the course of history—depended upon one man, one king. From New York Times bestselling storyteller Bernard Cornwell comes a rousing epic adventure of courage, treachery, duty, devotion, majesty, love, and battle as seen through the eyes…

This is the exciting – yet little known – story of the making of England in the ninth and 10th centuries, the years in which King Alfred, his son and grandson defeated the Danish Vikings who had invaded and occupied three of England’s four kingdoms.

The story is seen through the eyes of Uhtred, a dispossessed nobleman, who is captured as a child by the Danes and then raised by them so that, by the time the Northmen begin their assault on Wessex, Alfred’s kingdom and the last territory in English hands, Uhtred almost thinks of himself as a Dane. He certainly has no love for Alfred, whom he considers a pious weakling and no match for Viking savagery, yet when Alfred unexpectedly defeats the Danes and the Danes themselves turn on Uhtred, he has to decide which side he is on. By now he is a young man, in love, trained to fight and ready to take his place in the dreaded shield wall. Above all, though, he wishes to recover his father’s land, the magical fort of Bebbanburg by the wild northern sea.

This thrilling adventure – based on existing records of Bernard Cornwell’s ancestors, depicts a time when law and order were ripped violently apart by a pagan assault on Christian England, an assault that came very close to destroying England altogether. This is the exciting – yet little known – story of the making of England in the ninth and 10th centuries, the years in which King Alfred, his son and grandson defeated the Danish Vikings who had invaded and occupied three of England’s four kingdoms.

The Winter King (The Arthur Books #1)

The Winter King
Date:
MainCategory:
Period:
Type:
Genre:
Published: 1995
Seriesize:
Narrator:
Reception:
It takes a remarkable writer to make an old story as fresh and compelling as the first time we heard it. With The Winter King, the first volume of his magnificent Warlord Chronicles, Bernard Cornwell finally turns to the story he was born to write: the mythic saga of King Arthur. The tale begins in Dark Age Britain, a land where Arthur has been banished and Merlin has disappeared, where a child-king sits unprotected on…

Sharpe’s Tiger: The Siege of Seringapatam, 1799 (sharpe serie)

Sharpe's Tiger
Date:
MainCategory:
Type:
Genre:
trope:
Published: 1999-07-07
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Narrator:
Reception:

 

Richard Sharpe. Soldier, hero, rogue—the man you always want on your side. Born in poverty, he joined the army to escape jail and climbed the ranks by sheer brutal courage.

He knows no other family than the regiment of the 95th Rifles, whose green jacket he proudly wears.

“The greatest writer of historical adventures today.”
Washington Post