Valentia: (Victorinus Book 1)

Related Posts
The Burning Road

In the shadow of Sicily's Mount Etna, a brutal rebellion is about to erupt . . . The scorching new historical thriller from Sunday Times bestseller and Ancient Rome expert, Harry Sidebottom. 'What Bernard Cornwell is to the Napoleonic Wars, Harry Sidebottom Read more

An Oblique Approach (Belisarius Saga)

ALIEN MINDS BATTLE FOR BYZANTIUM In northern India the Malwa have created an empire of unexampled evil. Guided or possessed by an intelligence from beyond time, with new weapons, old treachery, and an implacable will to power, the Malwa will Read more

Valentia: (Victorinus Book 1)
MainCategory:
Newstuff:
Type:
Genre:
trope:
Lenght:
Seriesize:

The first book in a thrilling new series of adventures set in Roman Britain. Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow, Ben Kane, SJA Turney and Gordon Doherty.

Meet Tribune Sixtus Victorinus. Drunken soldier. Absent father. Unlikely hero.

Wall of Hadrian, Britannia, AD 367

It’s just another day, until it isn’t. Tribune Sixtus Victorinus is scouting north of the Wall when he first sees the smoke. Little does he know it’s about to change his life forever. Riding south he finds a province in chaos, the local populace in flight, the soldiers absent.

For rebellion is in the air at the far reaches of empire. The land is ablaze, overrun with barbarians, ‘Valentia’, is the word on everyone’s lips. And no one seems to have the first clue what to do about it.

And so Victorinus must act. He has let his life run to ruin, drunk his youth away. Now he must forge himself into the soldier he always wanted to be, the hero his children think he is.

Because his family are among the missing, and traitors lurk much closer than he could ever believe.

To save his family, he must first save an empire.

Praise for Adam Lofthouse and Valentia:

“Flawed characters seeking redemption. Honour, courage, sacrifice, bloody battles and deadly betrayals, Valentia has it all. Adam Lofthouse goes from strength to strength and this novel is up there with the best in the genre.” – Matthew Harffy

“Lofthouse takes one of the most shadowy and intriguing events in Roman history and turns it into a rampantly-paced, intense adventure. Simply masterful.” – Gordon Doherty

“The author delivers a lesson in how to depict a frontier world at the edge of a crumbling empire and how to populate it with believable and very likeable characters.” – Mark Knowles

The Centurion’s Son (Path of Nemesis Book 1)

The Centurion's Son (Path of Nemesis Book 1)
Date:
MainCategory:
Type:
Genre:
trope:
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Narrator:

Albinus, the son of a revered Roman veteran Silus, has always longed to be a farmer, not a soldier, and live his days ploughing and reaping the harvests, with his bride-to-be, Licina.

But Silus’ has darker ambitions, and wishes for Albinus to follow in his footsteps in the army. As the conflicts between father and son come to a head, a growing threat comes down from the vengeful Germanic tribes to the north. Just as Albinus and Licina are about to marry, their settlement is raided by barbarians and Silus and his veteran comrades are brutally killed, while Licina is kidnapped by the raiders and taken to their king as a gift.

Believing her to be alive, Albinus sets out on a quest to find Licina, finally fulfilling his father’s wishes. As the barbarian hordes gather and plan major rebellion against the Romans, Albinus finds a new fighting spirit within him and grows in stature among the legionaries. Licina meanwhile has a fight of her own, to escape from slavery and find Albinus. Time is running out, as the northern tribes head for Rome, decimating everything in their path…

Oathbreaker (Ravensworn Book 1)

Oathbreaker (Ravensworn Book 1)
Date:
MainCategory:
Type:
Genre:
trope:
Lenght:
Seriesize:

An action packed historical thriller set outside the boundaries of Ancient Rome. For fans of Bernard Cornwell, Matthew Harffy, Ben Kane and Simon Scarrow

At the edge of empire, one man stands alone

Alaric is an enemy of Rome.

For too long he has thwarted the empires attempts to gain control over the land that has long resisted them: Germania.
To the Romans he is a scourge, always evading their carefully laid traps. But to the tribes he is much worse: Outlaw, chief killer, battle turner, Oathbreaker.

All men know him, all men fear him. At his back is a war host, on his shoulder sits Loki, the Trickster. A deal has been struck between the legions and the tribes: lifelong enemies agree to become friends, for a time. The eagles march with the wolves, together they hunt the raven.

Isolated and lacking in allies, will Alaric be able to break free from the noose that slowly encircles him? Or will the Sly One once more come to his rescue.