Mortal Descent: Book One of the Arkae Chronicles

Related Posts
Blackest Spells

Magic to make the sanest man go mad. Dark wizardry. Witchcraft. Curses. Hexes. Evil Sorcerers. Fantasy has a long history of people wielding the forces of darkness for nefarious ends. Blackest Spells is a collection of eighteen short stories and Read more

Brutal: An Epic Grimdark Fantasy (THE BRUTAL SWORD SAGA)

He has no name. His past is a mystery. His future is etched in blood… The Sellsword knows an opportunity when he sees one. When he rides into the border city of Aldreth, he can tell that the power struggle Read more

Mortal Descent: Book One of the Arkae Chronicles

Fire beats against the cold and the dark, but all lights eventually fade…


Spanning across blackened war-torn country, vast oceans, and into the dark heart of sacred groves, Mortal Descent recounts tales of triumph, tragedy, war, and family within the grim world of Arkae. Here, a vengeful Reptile queen unites her people and calls the wrath of dragons down upon an invasive nation; a soldier has died so many times he doesn’t even know his own name but remembers what it means to be Human; and an Orc king seeks a peaceful death in a far-away land of summer, which is easier said than done for the children of winter.

Throughout the ages, legends leave their mark on Arkae, a half-frozen and unimaginably ancient world. Great figures rise and fall, empires collapse, and entire civilizations can be wiped out in the blink of history’s eye. But in this anthology of forgotten fantastical archives, even myths are doomed to die.

  • Three Short Stories by A. C. Pritchard
  • A Bonus Epic Poem by A. C. Pritchard