Gladiatrix

Related Posts
Beasts Beyond The Wall (Brothers Of The Sands)

In the dog days of Rome, a mission to the edge of the world... Drust and Kag, two ex-gladiators, are met with an unusual request. Powerful Servilius Structus sends them deep into Scotland, land of the Caledonii, to find and secure a woman and Read more

Valentia: (Victorinus Book 1)

The first book in a thrilling new series of adventures set in Roman Britain. Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow, Ben Kane, SJA Turney and Gordon Doherty. Meet Tribune Sixtus Victorinus. Drunken soldier. Absent father. Unlikely hero. Wall of Hadrian, Read more

Gladiatrix
Date:
MainCategory:
Period:
Type:
Genre:
trope:
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Protagonist:

The Ancient Roman public’s hunger for gladiatorial combat has never been greater. The Emperor Domitian’s passion for novelty and variety in the arena has given rise to a very different kind of warrior: the Gladiatrix.

Sole survivor of a shipwreck off the coast of Asia Minor, Lysandra finds herself the property of Lucius Balbus, owner of the foremost Ludus for female gladiators in the Eastern Empire. Lysandra, a member of an ancient Spartan sect of warrior priestesses, refuses to accept her new status as a slave. Forced to fight for survival, her deadly combat skills win the adoration of the crowds, the respect of Balbus.

But Lysandra’s Spartan pride also earns her powerful enemies: Sorina, Gladiatrix Prima and leader of the Barbarian faction, and the sadistic Numidian trainer, Nastasen. When plans are laid for the ultimate combat spectacle to honor the visit of the emperor’s powerful new emissary, Lysandra must face her greatest and deadliest trial.

This is a thrilling first novel that combines fascinating historical detail with blistering action.

Leave a Reply