The Jackal of Nar (Tyrants and Kings trilogy)

Related Posts
Age of Assassins (The Wounded Kingdom Book 1)

TO CATCH AN ASSASSIN, USE AN ASSASSIN . . . Girton Club-Foot, apprentice to the land's best assassin, still has much to learn about the art of taking lives. But their latest mission tasks him and his master with a Read more

The Jackal of Nar (Tyrants and Kings trilogy)
Date:
MainCategory:
Type:
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Author:
A nation’s fate rests one one man’s struggle between loyalty and desire.

His enemies call Prince Richius “the Jackal,” but he is merely a reluctant warrior for the Emperor in the fight for the strife-ridden borderland of Lucel-Lor.  And though the empire’s war machines are deadly, when the leader of a fanatical sect sweeps the battlefield with potent magic, Richius’s forces are routed.

He returns home defeated—but the Emperor will not accept the loss. Soon Richius is given one last chance to pit the empire’s science against the enemy’s devastating magic, and this time he fights for more than a ruler’s mad whim.
This time Richius has his own obsessive quest—and where he hesitated to go for an emperor’s greed, for love he will plunge headlong into the grasp of the deadliest enemy he has ever encountered. . . .

The Eyes of God (The Bronze Knight tetralogy)

The Eyes of God (The Bronze Knight tetralogy)
Date:
MainCategory:
Type:
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Author:

Akeela, King of Liiria, was a young and idealistic scholar who was determined to bring peace to his kingdom—a land that had been plagued by war with the neighboring kingdom of Reec for decades. Lukien, the Bronze Knight of Liiria, had been taken in by the royal family when, at fourteen, he saved Akeela’s life, but he’d never forgotten the brutal lessons of the streets he’d grown up on. A bond of loyalty stronger than blood linked these two men—but no two souls could be more different.

And as Akeela and Lukien entered their enemy’s stronghold on a mission of peace, neither man could forsee the turmoil this historic mission would wreak on their lives. For, to seal the peace, King Karis of Reec would bestow upon Akeela the hand of his charming, beautiful, and accomplished daughter Cassandra.

But Cassandra hid a terrible secret. She was experiencing the first symptoms of a disease which would threaten her life and cause unimaginable strife for all who loved her. For Akeela and Lukien, the quest for Cassandra’s salvation would overwhelm every bond of loyalty, every point of honor, every dream of peace. For only the magical amulets known as the Eyes of God could halt the progress of Cassandra’s illness. But the Eyes of God would also open the way to a magical stronghold which could tear their world apart and redefine the very nature of their reality.

Blood of Ambrose (Morlock Ambrosius)

Blood of Ambrose (Morlock Ambrosius)
Date:
MainCategory:
Type:
Seriesize:
Author:

In a remote city on the edge of two worlds, where blood has power and water is more precious than freedom, three far-flung friends unite on a quest to save their families. Sal Hrvati’s estranged father has brought more into the world than the woman he loved.

Instead of saving her from the Void Beneath, he has summoned an unknown creature — a creature with a mission of its own and a past that stretches back to the beginning of the world. The quest to find both of them entangles Sal and his companions in a hunt for magical treasure on the floor of the Divide, a mighty crack in the earth inhabited by creatures that are not remotely human.

Desert landscapes and dirigibles feature in a fast-paced fantasy that combines romance, adventure, and humor with an original take on magic. The Books of the Cataclysm take inspiration from many arcane and mythological sources. In positing that this world is just one of many “realms,” three of which are inhabited by humans during various stages of their lives, it begins in the present world but soon propels the reader to a landscape that is simultaneously familiar and fantastic.

see also : Morlock Ambrosius origin story,  A Guile of Dragons and a short stories collection in the same universe : Ambrosii: Three Stories

The Death Gate Cycle

The Death Gate Cycle
Date:
MainCategory:
Type:
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Narrator:

Ages ago, sorcerers of unmatched power sundered a world into four realms—sky, stone, fire, and water—then vanished. Over time, magicians learned to work spells only in their own realms and forgot the others.

Now only the few who have survived the Labyrinth and crossed the Death Gate know of the presence of all four realms—and even they have yet to unravel the mysteries of their severed world. . . .

In Arianus, Realm of Sky, humans, elves, and dwarves battle for control of precious water—traversing a world of airborne islands on currents of elven magic and the backs of mammoth dragons.

But soon great magical forces will begin to rend the fabric of this delicate land. An assassin will be hired to kill a royal prince—by the king himself. A dwarf will challenge the beliefs of his people—and lead them in rebellion. And a sinister wizard will enact his plan to rule Arianus—a plan that may be felt far beyond the Realm of Sky and into the Death Gate itself.

Karavans

Karavans
Date:
MainCategory:
Type:
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Narrator:

A NEW JOURNEY DAWNS

Audrun and her husband Davyd, along with the others of the land of Sancorra, have been left homeless because of the brutal Hecari. Consulting diviners, they learn that their newest child must be born in the peaceful province of Atalanda.

They must now travel close to the sinister woodlands of Alisanos, where darkness awaits. Joining a karavan for safety, the family moves ever closer to the dangerous, mystical forest.

And, as they are all about to discover, Alisanos is moving ever closer to them.

There Will be Dragons (Council Wars)

There Will be Dragons (Council Wars)
Date:
MainCategories: ,
Type:
Genre:
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Author:

Now with all new content by John Ringo!

Paradise Lost

In the future there is no want, no war, no disease nor ill-timed death. The world is a paradise—and then, in a moment, it ends. The council that controls the Net falls out and goes to war. Everywhere people who have never known a moment of want or pain are left wondering how to survive.

But scattered across the face of the earth are communities which have returned to the natural life of soil and small farm. In the village of Raven’s Mill, Edmund Talbot, master smith and unassuming historian, finds that all the problems of the world are falling in his lap. Refugees are flooding in, bandits are roaming the woods, and his former lover and his only daughter struggle through the Fallen landscape. Enemies, new and old, gather like jackals around a wounded lion.

But what the jackals do not know is that while old he may be, this lion is far from death. And hidden in the past is a mystery that has waited until this time to be revealed. You cross Edmund Talbot at your peril, for a smith is not all he once was. . . .

Far Away & Never

Ramsey Campbell, best known for his many works of horror and dark suspense, now invites the reader to yet another milieu, Far Away & Never. Through these eight tales of swords and sorcery—four of which feature the inexhaustible swordsman Ryre—the reader is taken on a ride through different times and unlike worlds, all filled with the fantastic creatures and thrilling action one would expect to come from Campbell’s imagination while writing in this realm. Anyone who has read Campbell’s completions of Robert E. Howard’s Solomon Kane stories recognize that he is very capable in this genre, and this collection only lends further evidence to his case.

Twenty-five years after its original publication, Far Away & Never is now back in print, with one additional story, “A Madness from the Vaults,” included. All told, there’s many a treat for the reader here—be they a fan of Ramsey Campbell or heroic fantasy in general.

Stories included:
“The Sustenance of Hoak”
“The Changer of Names”
“The Pit of Wings”
“The Mouths of Light”
“The Stages of the God”
“The Song at the Hub of the Garden”
“The Ways of Chaos”
“A Madness from the Vaults”

The Children Of Húrin by J.R.R. Tolkien

The Children Of Húrin by J.R.R. Tolkien
Date:
MainCategory:
Lenght:
Narrator:
Reception:

One of the three ‘Great Tales’ of the Elder Days, J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Children of Húrin takes place in Middle-earth thousands of years before the events of The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings.

The Children of Húrin is the first complete book by Tolkien since the 1977 publication of The Silmarillion. Six thousand years before the One Ring is destroyed, Middle-earth lies under the shadow of the Dark Lord Morgoth.

The greatest warriors among elves and men have perished, and all is in darkness and despair. But a deadly new leader rises, Túrin, son of Húrin, and with his grim band of outlaws begins to turn the tide in the war for Middle-earth—awaiting the day he confronts his destiny and the deadly curse laid upon him.

The Demon Awakens (R. A. Salvatore DemonWars series)

The Demon Awakens (R. A. Salvatore DemonWars series)
Date:
MainCategory:
Type:
Lenght:
Seriesize:

#1 New York Times bestselling author R. A. Salvatore brings an astonishing world to life and the intrepid hero, Elbryan Wynden, leads the way as he confronts the dark tides of destiny in his epic search for justice and peace.

A great evil has awakened in the land of Corona, a terrible demon determined to spread death and misery. His goblin armies and fearsome giants ravage the settlements of the frontier, and in the small village of Dundallis, their merciless attack leaves behind two shattered orphans: Pony and her lifelong friend, the youth Elbryan. Taken in by elves, Elryan is raised to become a formidable ranger—a fateful role that will lead him into harrowing confrontations.

Meanwhile, on a far-off island, a shower of gemstones will fall onto the black-sand shores. These heaven-sent stones carry within them an incredible power—the key to all that is good in the world and all that is evil, and it is up to one young monk to liberate them from the corrupt monastery that harvests them. Pray they don’t fall into the wrong clawed hands.

Rides a Dread Legion: Demonwar Saga by Raymond E. Feist

Rides a Dread Legion: Demonwar Saga by Raymond E. Feist
Date:
MainCategory:
Type:
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Narrator:

The DemonWar Saga begins with Rides a Dread Legion! Raymond E. Feist—the revered, New York Times bestselling fantasist who has been captivating readers for decades with his epic

tales of courage and conflict set on besieged Midkemia—plunges his noble heroes and their world  into almost unimaginable peril, as demon hordes approach from a different dimension. Replete with intrigue, mystery, betrayal, and conflict,

Rides a Dread Legion is a must read for fans of Terry Goodkind, George R. R. Martin, and Terry Brooks.