Twelve Kings in Sharakhai (Song of Shattered Sands)The Last Days of Old Sharakhai: A Shattered Sands Novella

Related Posts
Servant of the Jackal God: The Tales of Kamose, Archpriest of Anubis

Night-Black Sorcery and the Wrath of Malevolent Gods More than any writer since Robert E. Howard, Keith Taylor has a unique ability to evoke sheer terror amid the remote and haunted reaches of the ancient world. His tales of Kamose, Read more

Twelve Kings in Sharakhai (Song of Shattered Sands)
Date:
MainCategory:
Type:
trope:
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Narrator:
Protagonist:

A desert pit fighter plots to overthrow the immortal kings who terrorize her homeland in this first thrilling adventure in a blood- and sand-fueled epic fantasy series.

“Breathtaking.” —Robin Hobb, New York Times–bestselling author of Fool’s Assassin

Sharakhai, the great city of the desert, center of commerce and culture, has been ruled from time immemorial by twelve kings—cruel, ruthless, powerful, and immortal. With their army of Silver Spears, their elite company of Blade Maidens and their holy defenders, the terrifying asirim, the Kings uphold their positions as undisputed, invincible lords of the desert. There is no hope of freedom for any under their rule.

Or so it seems, until Çeda, a brave young woman from the west end slums, defies the Kings’ laws by going outside on the holy night of Beht Zha’ir. What she learns that night sets her on a path that winds through both the terrible truths of the Kings’ mysterious history and the hidden riddles of her own heritage. Together, these secrets could finally break the iron grip of the Kings’ power . . . if the nigh-omnipotent Kings don’t find her first.

same universe : The Last Days of Old Sharakhai: A Shattered Sands Novella

How Black the Sky: A Dark Fantasy Adventure (Hero’s Metal – Dark Fantasy Adventure)

How Black the Sky: A Dark Fantasy Adventure (Hero's Metal - Dark Fantasy Adventure)
MainCategory:
Type:
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Narrator:

How Black the Sky

A young spellsword looking to prove his mettle stumbles on news of imminent doom. Falling in with legendary warriors from the Overland, Pierce heralds the coming attack from the hollow earth below.

His new friends are Gorgonbane. Once mercenaries, now heroes, they are the only thing standing between Overland and the horrid Monstrosities of the Underlord. His lust for power has reached its peak, but the coming invasion may not be exactly what it seems…

Pierce – a brash young man with rare blessings of strength and really bad news.

Axebourne – the fatherly berserker with infectious laughter.

Scythia – calm and motherly, her Circlet of Knowing reveals secrets.

Agrathor – a mighty spearman with an electric personality and a terrible skin condition.

Ess – Second only to the First Great Master of Convergent Reality Theory. Mysterious and alluring.

The Hero’s Metal universe:

The world of Chasmgard is a place with endless secrets and a strange cosmology. A deep red sun crawls across a canvas of black, and nobody remembers why. Landlocked by a depthless Chasm, Overland and the Underlands have always vied for power and land. In How Black the Sky, we join a band of legendary warriors who may just be at the end of an age.

Island of the Dead

Island of the Dead
MainCategory:
trope:
Lenght:
Author:

World Horror Grand Master Brian Keene returns to zombies in this relentless sword and sorcery horror epic!

Einar, an enslaved barbarian, plots his escape from a war galley transporting troops and a mysterious weapon to far enemy shores. But when an apocalyptic storm at sea leaves Einar and his fellow captives shipwrecked on a strange, uncharted island, friend and foe alike must band together against a steadily growing horde of the undead … and even worse dangers.

Not even death is an escape from the Island of the Dead!

The Traitor God (The Age of Tyranny)

The Traitor God (The Age of Tyranny)
Date:
MainCategory:
Type:
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Narrator:

A city threatened by unimaginable horrors must trust their most hated outcast—or lose everything—in this crushing epic fantasy debut

After ten years on the run, dodging daemons and debt, reviled magician Edrin Walker returns home to avenge the brutal murder of his friend. Lynas had uncovered a terrible secret, something that threatened to devour the entire city. He tried to warn the Arcanum, the sorcerers who rule the city . . .

He failed.

Lynas was skinned alive and Walker felt every cut. Now, nothing will stop him from finding the murderer. Magi, mortals, daemons, and even the gods—Walker will burn them all if he has to. After all, it wouldn’t be the first time he’s killed a god

The Maleficent Seven

A “wickedly inventive” grimdark fantasy full of non-stop bloody action, shocking plot twists, and snarky gallows humor as a mismatched team of villains gets their shot at heroic glory (SFX).

When you are all out of heroes, all that’s left are the villains.

Black Herran was a dread demonologist, and the most ruthless general in all Essoran. She assembled the six most fearsome warriors to captain her armies: a necromancer, a vampire lord, a demigod, an orcish warleader, a pirate queen, and a twisted alchemist. Together they brought the whole continent to its knees . . . Until the day she abandoned her army, on the eve of total victory.

Forty years later, she must bring her former captains back together for one final stand, in the small town of Tarnbrooke—the last bastion against a fanatical new enemy tearing through the land, intent on finishing the job Black Herran started years before.

Seven bloodthirsty monsters. One town. Their last hope.

Seven Forges

Seven Forges
Date:
MainCategory:
Type:
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Narrator:

The Sword Defiant (Lands of the Firstborn)

The Sword Defiant (Lands of the Firstborn)
MainCategory:
Newstuff:
Type:
Lenght:
Seriesize:

THE SWORD CARES NOT WHO IT CUTS

Many years ago, Sir Aelfric and his nine companions saved the world, seizing the Dark Lord’s cursed weapons, along with his dread city of Necrad. That was the easy part.

Now, when Aelfric – keeper of the cursed sword Spellbreaker – learns of a new and terrifying threat, he seeks the nine heroes once again. But they are wandering adventurers no longer. Yesterday’s eager heroes are today’s weary leaders – and some have turned to the darkness, becoming monsters themselves.

If there’s one thing Aelfric knows, it’s slaying monsters. Even if they used to be his friends.

Set in a world of dark myth and dangerous prophecy, The Sword Defiant launches an epic tale of daring warriors, living weapons and bloodthirsty vengeance.

‘The front runner for my book of the year . . . The Sword Defiant is a love letter to roleplaying games, to Tolkien, to what epic fantasy has been about for me through my whole life. I adored this book from the first page to the last. Hanrahan has taken the best of the old, the best of the last two decades, and then brought it screaming into the modern era. Fans of Gemmell and Abercrombie need this on their shelves’
Ed McDonald, author of Blackwing

The Skald’s Black Verse: A Grimdark Scifi Fantasy (The Dreadbound Ode Trilogy)

The Skald's Black Verse: A Grimdark Scifi Fantasy (The Dreadbound Ode Trilogy)
Date:
MainCategory:
Type:
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Narrator:

Brohr needs out of his village before they put a noose around his neck.

Wanted for the bizarre and brutal murder of an occupying soldier, the true culprit is too horrifying to comprehend.

Hunted by invaders from another world, Brohr wrestles to uncover the truth of his brother’s death, and to spur his downtrodden kinsmen in a desperate revolt against an empire that spans the heavens.

But a fallen god lurks in the shadows, intent upon a rebellion of its own.

Above Brohr’s head, looms a dire omen, one that spells the end of his homeworld. Will he turn to the shadows for strength? How can one scorned half-breed, an outcast, a berserker, stand against an empire, against a god, against the very sky falling?

Servant of the Jackal God: The Tales of Kamose, Archpriest of Anubis

Night-Black Sorcery and the Wrath of Malevolent Gods

More than any writer since Robert E. Howard, Keith Taylor has a unique ability to evoke sheer terror amid the remote and haunted reaches of the ancient world. His tales of Kamose, archpriest of Anubis, the Egyptian god of death have been among the most popular features of the modern Weird Tales magazine.

Kamose… awesomely powerful, yet scarred, cursed, and nearly driven mad by forces even he cannot control for long…. Here are eleven of his supernatural adventures, two of them published for the first time.

“…convincing and authentic, revealing a deep knowledge of the history and cultures of the period.” —The Encyclopedia of Fantasy

Keith Taylor’s fiction won two Ditmar Awards, and was nominated for four more, as well as for two Aurealis Awards.

Night’s Master (Flat Earth Book 1)

Night's Master (Flat Earth Book 1)
Date:
MainCategory:
Type:
Lenght:
Seriesize:
Author:
Narrator:

The classic dark fantasy series Tales from the Flat Earth opens with this collection of three dreamlike inter-linked tales featuring the cruel and beautiful Azhrarn, Prince of Demons

Reminiscent of the 
Arabian Nights and Greek mythology, perfect for fans of Jack Vance’s Dying Earth fantasy series

Rediscover master fantasist Tanith Lee’s classic, most popular series, where demons and gods grant wonders and wreak havoc. Visit the Upperearth, where dwell the gods; the Underearth, the realm of nightmarish demons; the Innerearth, domain of the dead; and the Flat Earth itself, the home of mortals.

Supreme amongst them all is the demon god Azhrarn, Night’s Master, whose deadly whims could change the lives of those in the Flat Earth. Azhrarn holds in his heart a mystery which could alter the very existence of the Flat Earth forever.